Research Guides: Entrepreneurship & Innovation: Research & Planning

Research & Planning

This section provides tools and data to help you make informed decisions when starting or growing a business. Explore market research databases, demographic data, industry trends, and planning guides to validate your business idea, understand your audience, and build a strong foundation for success.

Planning & Strategy Tools

Bplans
Provides hundreds of sample business plans, financial calculators, and startup guides to help entrepreneurs plan and launch successfully.
Gale Business: Entrepreneurship
This database provides information on how to start, finance or manage small business. Resources include sample business plans, how to guides, articles and website.
SBA Business Guide | U.S. Small Business Administration
Step-by-step guide to starting and managing a business, including planning, funding, registering, and growing your company.
SBDCNet | National Information Clearinghouse
Offers detailed guides, templates, and industry-specific insights to help entrepreneurs create effective, research-based business plans.
SCORE Business Plan Templates | U.S. Small Business Administration
Free, customizable templates and tools to help entrepreneurs create detailed business plans with guidance from experienced mentors.
SmartStart™ | TN Department of Economic & Community Development
Step-by-step guidance for launching and growing a business. Provides interactive tools for underutilized businesses and microenterprises. Highlights community-based initiatives and placemaking resources. Ideal for small business owners seeking practical support and local development programs.

Charities & Nonprofit Organizations | Internal Revenue Service
Organizations operating for public benefit may qualify for tax-exempt status under Section 501(c)(3) or other IRS classifications.
Cooperative (Co-op) | U.S. Department of Agriculture
Member-owned businesses that operate democratically to meet shared needs, keeping profits local and supporting community development.
Corporation (C Corp) | Internal Revenue Service
A separate legal entity taxed on profits. Shareholders also pay taxes on dividends, resulting in double taxation.
Limited Liability Company (LLC) | Internal Revenue Service
A flexible business structure with liability protection. Taxed as sole proprietorship, partnership, or corporation depending on elections and members.
Partnerships | Internal Revenue Service
A business owned by two or more people. Income passes through to partners, who report it on personal tax returns.
S Corporation (S Corp) | Internal Revenue Service
A corporation electing pass-through taxation to shareholders, avoiding double taxation. Must meet specific IRS eligibility requirements.
Sole Proprietorship | Internal Revenue Service
An unincorporated business owned by one individual. Income and expenses are reported on the owner's personal tax return.

Funding Programs | U.S. Small Business Administration
Offers loans, investment capital, disaster assistance, and grants to help small businesses start, grow, or recover from setbacks.
America's Seed Fund | Small Business Administration
Provides non-dilutive funding through SBIR/STTR programs to support early-stage tech innovation and commercialization by small businesses.
Rural Business Development Grants | U.S. Department of Agriculture, Rural Development
Supports rural economic development through grants for nonprofits and public entities to assist small businesses and community projects.
Fund Tennessee (SSBCI) | Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development
Delivers equity, loans, and technical assistance to Tennessee small businesses through InvestTN, LendTN, and AssistTN programs.
Grant Funding Opportunities | Tennessee Department of Finance & Administration
Centralized portal for accessing federal and state grant opportunities across Tennessee’s government agencies and departments.
Transparency of Business Incentives in Tennessee | Tennessee Comptroller of the Treasury, Research and Education Accountability
Catalogs state business incentives and evaluates transparency levels, offering policy recommendations for improved public accountability.
Neighborhood Micro Grants Program | City of Knoxville
Provides up to $500 for neighborhood groups launching new projects or events that strengthen community engagement and leadership.

AnswerThePublic
Visualizes search queries and questions people ask online, helping marketers generate content ideas based on real-time audience curiosity.
Content Folks
A community-driven resource hub sharing content marketing strategies, writing tips, and real-world case studies from global content professionals.
Exploding Topics
Identifies rapidly growing trends before they go mainstream, helping marketers and startups discover emerging opportunities and niche markets early.
In Case You Missed It by Lia Haberman
Weekly newsletter decoding platform updates, creator economy trends, and brand strategies to help marketers stay ahead of digital shifts.
Link In Bio by Rachel Karten
A newsletter offering behind-the-scenes insights, trends, and interviews on social media strategy from a seasoned brand consultant.
MarketingWeek
UK-based publication offering in-depth analysis, news, and thought leadership on brand strategy, advertising, and marketing innovation.
Search Engine Optimization (SEO) Starter Guide | Google Inc.
Official guide from Google explaining SEO basics, site structure, and optimization techniques to improve visibility in organic search results.
SocialMediaToday
Covers breaking news, trends, and insights in digital marketing, social media strategy, and platform updates for professionals and entrepreneurs.

Business Tax | TN Department of Revenue
Explains Tennessee’s state and city business tax requirements, registration, filing, and compliance for businesses operating within the state.
Copyright.gov
Official U.S. Copyright Office site offering registration, legal guidance, and resources for protecting original creative works and intellectual property.
Employee Rights | Tennessee Department of Labor & Workforce Development
Provides information on workplace rights, wage laws, safety, and discrimination protections for employees in Tennessee.
How to start and fund your own business | USAGov
Offers federal guidance on planning, launching, funding, and managing a small business in the United States.
Register Your Business | Internal Revenue Service
Provides resources and information on how to make your business a legal entity depending on your structure type and business location.
Resources for Small Businesses | U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
Helps small businesses understand securities laws, capital raising, and compliance with investor protection regulations.
SBA Business Guide | U.S. Small Business Administration
Comprehensive guide to starting, managing, and growing a business, including funding, licensing, and federal resources.
Small Business | Knoxville Chamber
Local resource hub offering networking, advocacy, and support services for small businesses in the Knoxville area.
United States Patent and Trademark Office
Federal agency for registering patents and trademarks, offering tools to protect inventions, brands, and intellectual property.

Keywords

These are flexible and good for broad or exploratory searches:

Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH)

Use these for more precise, structured searches in library catalogs:

Databases

Business Data | Tennessee Department of Economic & Community Development
Interactive dashboards with data on business ownership by race, gender, veteran status, and employment type. Helps identify market gaps, target demographics, and industry trends by region.
Demographics | City of Knoxville
Provides population, housing, income, and workforce data to support planning, development, and community decision-making in Knoxville.
Geospatial Data for Tennessee | State of Tennessee
Downloadable GIS data on boundaries, transportation, housing, education, health, and more. Ideal for location analysis, site selection, and community-based planning.
Open Data Portals and Clearinghouses | TN Geographic Information Council (TNGIC)
Curated list of Tennessee GIS and demographic data sources, including university and government datasets. Great for academic research and regional planning.
Open Data | Knoxville-Knox County Planning
Interactive portal with downloadable datasets on zoning, land use, transportation, and demographics for regional planning and analysis.
Tennessee Quarterly Business & Economic Indicator Reports | Tennessee Secretary of State
Tracks business filings, employment trends, and economic indicators to assess Tennessee’s business climate and growth patterns quarterly.
Tennessee State Data Center | Boyd Center for Business and Economic Research
Offers access to U.S. Census data, training, and technical assistance for demographic research and state-level planning.

Census Data | United States Census Bureau
Offers demographic, economic, and geographic data critical for policy, research, and community planning through interactive tools and visualizations.
Data.gov | U.S. General Services Administration, Technology Transformation Services
The U.S. government’s central open data portal, offering 300,000+ datasets for research, development, and public engagement.
GSA Open Data | U.S. General Services Administration
Provides public access to federal datasets, promoting transparency, innovation, and informed decision-making across government and private sectors.
Open Data | Digital.gov, U.S. General Services Administration
Supports federal open data initiatives by connecting agencies, stewards, and civic technologists to improve transparency and public service delivery.

Business Source Complete
Comprehensive scholarly business database offering full-text journals and bibliographic content across all business disciplines, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics.

Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing EBSCOhost databases or ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
Gale Business. Entrepreneurship
Offers tools for planning, funding, and managing a business. Includes sample business plans, journals, multimedia, and guides for entrepreneurs and small business owners.

• Access provided by Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
• Please see this FAQ for additional information about content in Gale databases.
• Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing Gale databases and ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
Gale OneFile. Business
Provides full-text access to business disciplines including finance, marketing, management, and economics, with coverage of theory, practice, and industry trends.
- Access provided by the Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL).
- Please see this FAQ for additional information about content in Gale databases.
- Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing Gale databases and ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation.
  For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
Regional Business News
Covers U.S. and Canadian regional business publications, including newspapers, trade journals, newswires, and transcripts. Full-text coverage from 1990 to present.

Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing EBSCOhost databases or ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
SAGE Business Researcher
Archived collection of in-depth reports on business and economic issues. No new content added after April 2019; useful for historical research.
Wall Street Journal (WSJ.com: Online), current issues
Unlimited access to WSJ.com and mobile apps. Covers business, finance, and global news from 1997 to present. UT email required for account setup.

Catalyst (MRI-Simmons)
Provides U.S. consumer data on product use, spending, and media habits from Simmons National Consumer Study. Custom reports available.

Please see this FAQ for accessibility workarounds for accessing Catalyst. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
First Research
Industry reports with trends, forecasts, challenges, and financials. Includes marketing templates. Now part of D&B Hoovers platform.

If you begin to have access issues, try clearing everything in your browser history. If that does not work, contact eproblems@utk.edu.
IBISWorld
Delivers industry and risk reports with market size, competitor share, growth rates, and trend analysis across sectors.
Insider Intelligence
Offers digital marketing, media, and commerce insights from eMarketer and Business Insider Intelligence. Includes forecasts and consumer behavior trends.

Please see this FAQ for accessibility workarounds for accessing Insider Intelligence. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
Mergent Market Atlas
Covers U.S. and global public companies with current and historical corporate data spanning the past 15 years.
Mintel Academic.
Provides U.S. market research reports by category. Includes consumer profiles, trends, and interactive databooks for academic use.

For help downloading Mintel reports, see FAQ.
Nielsen Datasets / Kilts Center for Marketing
Academic access to Nielsen consumer and retail data. Available to approved UTK faculty, PhD students, and post-docs.
Before registration, please review Policies for eligibility, project criteria, use requirements, papers and publications policies.
Registration and Access:
- First, you need to register for an account.
  - New User Registration
  - Registered Researchers Access
- Limitations:
  - The data is only available to be used on university-owned equipment and should not be distributed via the internet (unless it’s through university systems). There is a specific exception to be allowed to use systems like Dropbox and Box for collaboration.
Plunkett Research Online
Industry analysis and market research with statistics, trends, company profiles, and lists of associations and organizations.

Connect / S&P Global
Access industry-leading analysis, forecasts, and risk data on U.S. economic and political conditions via US Monitor Enhanced subscription.

Access had been provided by the Haslam College of Business.
Users of keyboard navigation will not be able to fully access this resource. Please contact eproblems@utk.edu for assistance.
Data Axle Reference Solutions
Comprehensive directory of U.S. businesses and consumers, useful for market research, sales leads, and demographic analysis.

Users of keyboard navigation or screen reader software may require assistance with this resource. Please contact eproblems@utk.edu for help.
GuideStar
Detailed nonprofit profiles including mission, finances, impact, and governance. Access provided by Haslam College of Business.
International Directory of Company Histories
Historical profiles of influential public and private companies worldwide, covering strategic developments and industry impact since 1988.

Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing Gale databases and ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
Mergent Archives
Historical corporate and industry documents, including annual reports, Mergent and D&B manuals, and pre-2015 Key Business Ratios.

If the content of a Mergent Archives article is inaccessible to you, please contact eproblems@utk.edu to request an accessible alternative format.
Screen reader users may require assistance with this resource. Please contact eproblems@utk.edu for help.
Morningstar Investment Research Center
Investment data and analysis on mutual funds, stocks, and ETFs. Includes portfolio tools and corrected quantitative ratings.
PrivCo
Private company financials and business data, including venture-backed, family-owned, and international firms not publicly traded.

First time users must create an account using your UTK email.

Checkpoint Edge
Comprehensive tax and accounting database with IRS Code, regulations, cases, and Federal Tax Handbook. Ideal for legal and financial research.

Access provided by UT Law Library.
Nexis Uni
Legal and business research tool with news, cases, codes, and company data. Includes U.S. Supreme Court decisions and global coverage.

Users of keyboard navigation may require assistance with this resource. Please contact eproblems@utk.edu for help.
OECD.org
Access books, papers, and statistics from OECD covering global economic topics like trade, energy, agriculture, and development.
ProcurementIQ
Provides procurement intelligence reports with product overviews, supplier insights, market characteristics, and negotiation strategies for informed purchasing decisions.

Please see this FAQ for accessibility workarounds for accessing ProcurementIQ. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
Extensive archive of public opinion polls on politics, culture, science, and more. Includes downloadable datasets and visualized results.

If Roper Center content is inaccessible to you, please contact eproblems@utk.edu to request an accessible alternative format.
Users of keyboard navigation or of swipe/gesture navigation on Android/iOS may require assistance with this resource. Please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
SageData
Social science datasets with tools for analysis. Browse by topic, source, or geography. Includes Data-Planet and Statistical Datasets.

Screen reader users should avoid using an Android or iOS device on this website.
Social Science Research Network : SSRN
Repository of scholarly papers in social sciences. Includes abstracts and full-text PDFs in economics, law, management, and more.

Access provided by UT Law Library.
Sociometrics
Curated health and social science datasets. Includes longitudinal studies and original survey instruments across eight topical research collections.

Journals

Entrepreneurship Theory and Practice
Publishes cutting-edge research on entrepreneurial behavior, innovation, and policy, bridging academic theory with real-world entrepreneurial practice.
Journal of Business Venturing
Focuses on startup creation, venture capital, and entrepreneurial finance, emphasizing rigorous research on early-stage business development.
Journal of Small Business Management
Covers small business strategy, operations, and management, with practical insights for entrepreneurs, educators, and policymakers.
Small Business Economics
Explores the economic role of entrepreneurship and small businesses, offering empirical studies on innovation, growth, and policy impacts.
Strategic Entrepreneurship Journal
Examines how entrepreneurial strategies drive innovation and competitive advantage, blending insights from strategy, economics, and organizational theory.