Library Resources & Services
Health Sciences Librarian
Niki Cobb serves as the Health Sciences Librarian for the College of Nursing. Some ways that I provide support include:
- selecting keywords for searches
- developing search strings
- locating hard-to-find resources
- creating sample search queries
Need Assistance? Not sure how to start?
Book time to meet with me via Zoom at nikicobb.youcanbook.me!
Email your question(s) to me at hslibs@utk.edu!
We can work with you via email or set up a consultation time to work one-on-one or in groups.
Research Guides like the DNP Program Guide provide a curated list of resources and support information based upon discipline or subject interest. These additional research guides provide materials and tools that may also be of interest.
- NursingThis guide provides an overview of resources and services available to Nursing students and faculty.
- Health PolicyThis guide provides an overview of health policy resources.
- Databases (all subject areas)Find relevant scholarly articles, newspapers, books, music, videos, and much more.
- E-JournalsTo find a specific article, look in OneSearch, or search by journal title. If UT doesn't subscribe to the journal, request the article from another library using UT's Resource Sharing.
- Google ScholarNarrows search results to more scholarly sources (as interpreted by Google). To take advantage of getting access to library subscriptions, be sure to set the Library Links under Settings to the University of Tennessee.
- Resource SharingWhen UT Libraries doesn't own a resource you need, you may request it through Resource Sharing, which will attempt to borrow it from another library. Allow plenty of time for your request to be fulfilled.
- Article or Chapter Scan on DemandDon't have time to go to the library and copy articles you need? Library Express (LX) will scan print and microform materials and deliver as PDFs to your email account. All UTK faculty, students, and staff may use this service at no charge. Follow the link to find out how it works!
- T-Storage50GB of storage is "available to all Knoxville faculty, staff, and students."
Library Services Overview
- HS Libs: Introduction to Library ResourcesThis presentation introduces the library resources available through UTK Libraries and the Health Sciences Librarians.
Database Tutorials
Databases & Online Resources
- ACCESS Smart SearchFormerly Best Evidence for Nursing+ A searchable database that "identifies studies and systematic reviews that are scientifically strong; articles that meet scientific criteria are then rated by frontline clinicians for relevance and newsworthiness." Free registration required.
- Cochrane LibraryCochrane Library is a collection of evidence-based clinical information databases for healthcare providers.
- ClinicalTrials.gov"A database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world." Provided by the National Library of Medicine.
- Guideline CentralGuideline Central is dedicated to providing healthcare professionals with evidence-based clinical decision-support tools that are current, practical, and easily accessible.
- ECRI Guidelines TrustAlternate resource for the former National Guideline Clearinghouse. "This centralized repository includes evidence-based guidance developed by nationally- and internationally-recognized medical organizations and medical specialty societies." Free to use, but registration is required.
- PROSPEROInternational prospective register of systematic reviews. "Valuable resource for identifying on-going reviews to help avoid unplanned duplication."
- TripSearches across multiple sources of best evidence.
- UpToDate
An evidence-based medicine (EBM) tool that assists healthcare providers with point-of-care decisions.
Access provided by UT Medical Center.
- CINAHL Complete
This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database for the literature of nursing and of allied health.
- ComDisDome
An indexing and abstracting tool covering the communications disorders literature, with focus on speech-language pathology and audiology. Coverage from 1950 to current.
- Health Policy Reference CenterFull-text resources covering all aspects of health policy and related issues.
- PubMed
- This link opens in a new window
Essential database for biomedicine. Includes citations from MEDLINE and for biomedical articles in life science journals. A product of the National Center for Biotechnology Information.
- Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature in science, engineering, medicine, social sciences, and some arts & humanities. Coverage is strongest from 1996 to present. Chrome is the preferred browser for this platform.
- Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary citation index covering journal articles and conference proceedings in sciences, social sciences, and humanities from 1900 to current. Provides cited reference searching and journal impact factors. Also includes access to Essential Science Indicators.
- R2 Digital LibraryE-books and downloadable images primarily for nursing, medicine, and allied health.
- MedOne ComSci
A collection of Thieme e-books containing images, videos, and cases in audiology and speech language pathology.
Previous DNP Project submissions are available in TRACE. Tennessee Research and Creative Exchange (TRACE) is The University of Tennessee's Open Access repository, a publicly accessible archive featuring research and creative work by UT scholars and researchers. You can learn more about TRACE by visiting trace.tennessee.edu.