Health Sciences Librarians
Guide Content by:
Will Buck
MSIS Candidate
School of Information Science
College of Communication and Information
University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Content in this guide by Will Buck is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License
Finding Books
The UT Libraries' One Search will help you find books, both print and electronic.
Encyclopedias
Select E-Books
Community Organizing and Community Building for Health and Welfare by
The third edition of Community Organizing and Community Building for Health and Welfare provides new and more established ways to approach community building and organizing, from collaborating with communities on assessment and issue selection to using the power of coalition building, media advocacy, and social media to enhance the effectiveness of such work. With a strong emphasis on cultural relevance and humility, this collection offers a wealth of case studies in areas ranging from childhood obesity to immigrant worker rights to health care reform. A "tool kit" of appendixes includes guidelines for assessing coalition effectiveness, exercises for critical reflection on our own power and privilege, and training tools such as "policy bingo." From former organizer and now President Barack Obama to academics and professionals in the fields of public health, social work, urban planning, and community psychology, the book offers a comprehensive vision and on-the-ground examples of the many ways community building and organizing can help us address some of the most intractable health and social problems of our times. Dr. Minkler's course syllabus: Although Dr. Minkler has changed the order of some chapters in the syllabus to accommodate guest speakers and help students prep for the midterm assignment she uses, she arranged the actual book layout in a way that should flow quite naturally if instructors wish to use it in the order in which chapters appear.
ISBN: 9780813553146Publication Date: 2012-07-16
Cross Cultural Competence by
'Cross Cultural Competence' serves as a comprehensive, practical, and workshop-based program that allows facilitators and organizational change agents to help organizations and people develop cross cultural skills and global competence. The book is grounded in the most rigorous and relevant theories, research, and learning methods and makes them easily accessible and fun to apply. Rich with exercises, case studies, survey instruments, and tools, it is based on the authors' extensive experience in delivering cross cultural training, coaching, and consulting in multiple languages to numerous organizations across the globe. The book may also be used by individuals who want to better understand the complexity of working and living in a cross cultural world or who want to improve their capabilities in cross cultural management.The book describes why individuals, organizations, and institutions need to develop global competence, proposes an original and holistic "Cross Cultural Competence Model," describes the business case for global competence, and provides all the concepts, knowledge, skills, and training tools needed to develop global competence in people and organizations.
ISBN: 9781784418878Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Cultural Competency for Health Administration and Public Health by
Cultural Competency for Health Administraion and Public Health is serves as an introductory text addressing comprehensive coverage specific to the fields of health services administration and public health. While cultural competency has become a popular topic in these fields, the general population, health service administration and public health students, health service administrators and public health practitioners are in need of a greater key information relevant to the topic and how to apply this knowledge in their area of study/work. This book provides readers with a clear and concise overview of the subject matter and the necessary tools to apply cultural competency processes in various healthcare settings, offering a systematic and disciplined approach to the process of achieving cultural competence.
ISBN: 9781449618209Publication Date: 2010-10-15
Leininger's Culture Care Diversity and Universality by
Leininger's Culture Care Diversity and Universality, Third Edition presents an expanded view of the Culture Care Theory as well as integral components of the Ethno-nursing Research Method. The use of the CCT with new research methodologies such as meta-ethno-nursing as well as other established qualitative methods is also covered. The theoretical framework of the culture care theory is used to inform research, teaching, and practice. It is a holistic and comprehensive nursing theory focused on discovering relationships among and between care and health phenomena related to wellness, health, disabilities, and death for people from diverse cultures. Third Edition Features: Chapter reference lists Discussion questions for use in education, practice, or discussion settings Instructor Resources include: Test bank Sample syllabi for course development that parallel content of chapters
ISBN: 9781284026634Publication Date: 2014-05-01
Teaching Cultural Competence in Nursing and Health Care by
"This book will help educators understand the multidimensional process of cultural competence, and the vignettes it provides will be useful to anyone who teaches cultural competence."--Nursing Education Perspectives In our multicultural society, nurses and health care providers, educators and administrators, professional association leaders, and researchers must work toward achieving cultural competency. This new edition, along with the digital Cultural Competence Education Resource Toolkit, offers a unique and effective guide to do just that. Newly updated and revised, this book presents ready-to-use materials for planning, implementing, and evaluating cultural competence strategies and programs. Users will learn to identify the needs of diverse constituents, evaluate outcomes, prevent multicultural-related workplace conflict, and much more. Complete with vignettes, case exemplars, illustrations, and assessment tools, this book is required reading for those working in academic settings, health care institutions, employee education, and nursing and health care organizations and associations.Key Features: Offers a wide selection of educational activities and techniques for diverse learners Presents guidelines for helping educators, students, and professionals to maximize strengths, minimize weaknesses, and facilitate success Describes toolkit questionnaires for measuring and evaluating cultural learning and performance Provides guidelines for employee orientation programs to achieve cultural competence in the workplace The Digital Cultural Competence Education Resource Toolkit The Toolkit consists of three sets of tools and a total of 21 distinct tools. The three sets of tools are: Resources for Academic Settings; Resources for Health Care Institutions; and Resources for Professional Associations. Taken together, the tools provide a comprehensive set of materials for planning, implementing, and evaluating cultural competence education strategies and programs. These tools may be used alone or in conjunction with other tools and will be of use to a broad range of readers at all levels: nurses, educators, administrators, association leaders, managers, researchers, students, and other health care providers. The tools and this book will enable you to achieve optimal cultural competence.
Call Number: RT86.5 .J442 2010ISBN: 9780826117885Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Transcultural Health Care by
Prepare yourself for the culturally rich and ethically diverse world in which you will practice
ISBN: 9780803638952Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Transcultural Nursing Theory and Models by
This volume is the first to examine and promote the application of current, major transcultural nursing (TCN) theory and models and assessment tools in nursing education, practice, and administration. As a comprehensive text for master's and bachelor's
ISBN: 9780826107497Publication Date: 2011-07-01
Reading List
- Cultural Competence Reading ListProvided by the U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services - Office of Minority Health Resource Center