Melanie Dixson & Niki Kirkpatrick
Guide Content by:
Will Buck
MSIS Candidate
School of Information Science
College of Communication and Information
University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Content in this guide by Will Buck is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License
Ageism in Healthcare
There is growing concern at a national level that aging populations will cause skyrocketing health care costs. A 2001 report showed that there was decreasing support among the general population for expanding programs for elders and increasing support for cutting costs and benefits. This is consistent with one researcher's observation that ageism is “a deep and profound prejudice against the elderly which is found to some degree in all of us.” For these reasons, ageism is increasingly recognized as a health disparity issue of great significance for this country, now and in the future.
Anderson, T. T. (2008). Ageism. In Encyclopedia of Aging and Public Health. (pp. 103-105). Springer US. DOI:10.1007/978-0-387-33754-8_24.
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Aging and Public Health by
People are living longer, and the elder population is growing larger. To meet the ongoing need for quality information on elder health, this book combines multiple perspectives to offer readers a more accurate and complete picture of the aging process. The book takes a biopsychosocial approach to the complexities of its subject, and all chapters and entries include references and resource lists. The book includes entries on not-quite-elders' concerns (e.g., midlife crisis, menopause). The Encyclopedia has been developed for maximum utility to clinicians, social workers, researchers, and public health professionals working with older adults.
ISBN: 9780387337531Publication Date: 2008-01-16
Select Websites
Selected E-books
Ageism by
Along with race and gender, people commonly use age to categorize - and form stereotypes about - others. Of the three categories, age is the only one in which the members of the in-group (the young) will eventually join the out-group (the old). Although ageism is found cross-culturally, it is especially prevalent in the United States, where most people regard growing older with depression, fear, and anxiety. Older people in the United States are stigmatized and marginalized, with often devastating consequences.
ISBN: 0262140772Publication Date: 2002-03-21
Aging, Health, and Longevity in the Mexican-Origin Population by
Aging, Health, and Longevitynbsp;in the Mexican-Origin Populationnbsp;creates a foundation for an interdisciplinary discussion of the trajectory of disability and long-term care for older people of Mexican-origin from a bi-national perspective. Although the literature on Latino elders in the United States is growing, few of these studies or publications offer the breadth and depth contained in this book.
ISBN: 9781461418672Publication Date: 2012-02-08
Beyond Elder Law by
All over the world, there is a growing interest in the relationship between law and aging: How does the law influence the lives of older people? Can rights, advocacy and representation advance the social position of the aged and combat ageism? What are the new and cutting-edge frontiers in the field of elder law? Should there be a new international human rights convention in this field? These are only a few of the many questions that arise. This book attempts to answer some of these questions and to set the agenda for the future development of elder law across the globe. Taking into account existing research and knowledge, leading scholars from different continents (North America, Europe, Asia, and Australia) present in this book original and novel ideas regarding the future development of elder law. These ideas touch upon key topics such as elder guardianship, citizenship, mental capacity, elder abuse, human rights and international law, family relationships, age discrimination, and the right to die. This book can thus serve as an important reference work for all those interested in understanding where law and aging are headed, and for those concerned about the future legal rights of older persons.
ISBN: 9783642259722Publication Date: 2012-03-28
Care-Related Quality of Life in Old Age by
It's a core issue at the heart of elder care: while best-practice data exist for long-term care, quality of life as a concept, measure and standard for care outcomes remains elusive. The result of an ambitious European research initiative, the Care Keys Project addresses quality of life issues among frail, care-dependent seniors, taking their social as well as health needs into account. This resulting volume explains the theory behind Care Keys, its methodology, empirical findings, and practical considerations in promoting effective, efficient elder care aimed at social and emotional well-being and including disabled and cognitively impaired patients.
ISBN: 9780387721699Publication Date: 2007-10-27
Classic Papers in Geriatric Medicine with Current Commentaries by
This volume collects the foundation papers in the discipline of Geriatric medicine. The book begins with a chapter on those papers that established the field. It then goes on to provide a long overdue review of the important "classic" papers in geriatric medicine and includes information on the development of health systems which support the care of older patients. Each chapter begins with a commentary by a faculty member with special interest or expertise in that area.
ISBN: 9781597454285Publication Date: 2010-04-28
Gender, Health and Ageing: European Perspectives by
The different research fields - gerontology, gender and health - have generated different views, knowledge and foci on ageing, health and gender. It is now necessary to integrate these aspects into research, policy and practice. The objective of this book is to provide an overview of gender, health and ageing. Important theoretical concepts, such as life course and "Lebenslagen" in old age, or differences in men's health, are introduced. It is increasingly important to build a European basis of knowledge, to conduct discussions on European research findings, and to develop European research frameworks. In this volume, central theoretical debates on gender impacts on life course and old-age health, and vital issues of health research in the context of gender and old age are introduced. Specific aspects, such as the impact of gender and age on cardiovascular health, elder abuse and mental health, or care between gender relations, gender roles and gender constructs, are pointed out. Special attention is given to the impact of social, political and economic change in different New EU Member States, like Hungary, Poland and Slovenia.
ISBN: 9783531903552Publication Date: 2008-05-07
Handbook of LGBT Elders by
This groundbreaking resource presents a wealth of findings and perspectives previously unseen in the LGBT literature. Its focus on psychological, sociopolitical and care delivery issues affecting LGBT elders reveals both the nuanced interplay between diverse sources of identity and multiple sources of stigma and discrimination. Specific chapters highlight challenges and resiliencies impacting subpopulations (e.g., racial groups, veterans, immigrants), examine employment and advocacy issues, discuss later-life concerns in context and offer guidelines for relevant, ethical practice. Contributors represent a wide range of fields from psychiatry and gerontology to public health and public policy, reflecting the scope and needs of this diverse and complex population. Among the topics in the Handbook: Family relationships of older LGBT adults. The intersection of identities: race, age, sexuality and care network. Bisexuality: an invisible community among LGBT elders. Implications of the Supreme Court ruling on same-sex marriage. No money, no work and you're old. Disabilities among LGBT elders: responses of medicine, public health, rehabilitation and social work. Handbook of LGBT Elders is an essential reference for mental health professionals, psychologists and social workers who work with the LGBT community and the elderly, as well as researchers interested in the LGBT community and aging.
ISBN: 9783319036236Publication Date: 2015-08-05
Healthy Longevity in China by
Key research in the world's largest aging population - in China - has fed into this important new work, which aims to answer questions critical to older people worldwide. These include: is the period of disability compressing or expanding with increasing life expectancy and what factors are associated with these trends in the recent decades? And is it possible to realize morbidity compression with a prolongation of the life span in the future? Essential reading for gerontologists.
ISBN: 9781402067525Publication Date: 2008-01-10
New Directions in Geriatric Medicine by
This book is designed to present the clinical geriatric trends within general internal medicine and family practice, which practitioners often encounter in caring for their older adult patients. Chapters focus on increasingly difficult clinical decisions that practitioners have to make in caring for older adults, who often experience medical complications due to memory loss, physical disability, and multiple chronic conditions. Written by experts in geriatric medicine, each of these chapters start with the most up-to-date clinical geriatric research and provide specific examples or case studies on how to use this information to address the clinical needs of older adult patients. In addition, there is a set of concise "take-home points" for each chapter that are easy to commit to memory and implement in clinical care of aging patients. As the only book to focus on current trends in geriatric research and evidence-based eldercare practice, Clinical Trends in Geriatric Medicine is of great value to internists, family practitioners, geriatricians, nurses, and physician assistants who care for older adults.
ISBN: 9783319281377Publication Date: 2016-04-09
Quality of Life in Old Age by
This volume brings together leading researchers on quality of life in old age to focus on one of the most important issues in both gerontology and quality of life studies. There are very few texts available on this topic and none of an international and multi-disciplinary nature. For these reasons and the high quality of the authors we have assembled, this will be a seminal text for both gerontology and quality of life researchers.
ISBN: 9781402056826Publication Date: 2007-06-13
Sexuality and Aging by
Despite continuing ageist beliefs that sexuality is a privilege designed only for the young and physically healthy, research continues to indicate that the majority of older adults maintain interest in sexuality and may engage in fulfilling sexual behavior well into their last decade of life. Unfortunately, many professionals remain unaware of general knowledge of elderly sexuality, including the expected and normal physiological changes that can occur within the context of both male and female aging. The presence of chronic illness and other medical problems certainly can influence the expression of an aging adult's sexuality, and emergent research suggests that there are effective ways to cope with menopause, heart disease, arthritis, incontinence, diabetes, sleep disorders, breast cancer, prostate cancer, and erectile dysfunction (ED), among others. Dramatic changes have taken place within the last decade alone in terms of non-surgical treatment for incontinence and ED, with forms of sex therapy, biofeedback, and PDE-5 inhibitors. Regrettably, many aging adults and their care providers remain unaware of their increased risk factors for STDs, including HIV infection via lack of knowledge, changes in the vaginal lining, and typical declines in immune function. Estimates suggest that by the year 2020, more than half of all individuals living with HIV will be over the age of 50. Although some high quality professional books are available for clinicians, they tend to be disjointed research bibliographies, edited volumes on a narrowly focused aspect of elderly sexuality, or texts that are more than 10 years old. With the extent of new information available regarding sexuality and aging, an up to date, empirically based text is necessary.
ISBN: 9781461433996Publication Date: 2012-03-27
