- University Libraries
- Research Guides
- Health and Wellness
- Evidence-Based Practice
- Research Instruments & Scales
Evidence-Based Practice
Finding & Using Research Instruments
Research instruments are tools that can be used to collect, measure and analyze data. Instruments can come in many different forms: questionnaires, surveys, tests, interviews, etc. Locating instruments and being able to assess their efficacy and validity is a key aspect of producing original research.
Each database functions slightly differently for how to find and access research instruments. Listed below are some library databases and online resources that can be useful in your search for research instruments and information related to instruments. Below each database is additional information that can be helpful when searching on that particular database.
In many cases, our library databases do not provide the research instrument or scale, but rather provide information about the instrument, allowing you to assess the validity and efficacy of the research instrument. You may need to use the databases in order to find additional information about how to access the instrument, which may require contacting the authors for permissions and usage instructions. If you do locate the research instrument, be sure to check for any pertinent usage or copyright information.
Note: It can be challenging to track down the instruments and scales. You can always check the "Methods" section of the article to find additional information about the instrument and how it was used. Oftentimes, the authors will include their research instrument/questionnaire/scale in the Supplementary Materials section of their article.
Library Databases
- CINAHL Complete
This link opens in a new window
To access CINAHL's collection of Research Instruments go to the Advanced Search page and filter results by "Publication Type = Research Instruments; Questionnaire/Scale". Once selected, press search and CINAHL will display the full collection of Research Instruments in the database.
Alternatively, you can set the Field Type limiter to "IN: Instrumentation" and search using keywords. When you find a relevant article scroll down to the "Instrumentation" section of the article to locate specific instruments that were used in the research. If you would like to find more information within the article, scan over the Methods section, which usually has more information about the instrumentation that was used in the article. - PubMed
- This link opens in a new window
To find a specific Instrument or scale: simply type the name of the research instrument into the search bar.
To find an instrument for a specific variable: use the advanced search feature to type in the keyword for the variable then add the appropriate Medical Subject Headings for instruments, scales, or surveys. Eg. "Surveys and Questionnaires" [Mesh]. - APA PsycINFO
- This link opens in a new window
To find a specific instrument: input the name or acronym of the instrument in the search bar.
To find an instrument for a specific variable: select "Tests and measures' as your field type, then search for your keywords. - Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Assists in the identification of measurement and evaluation instruments (questionnaires, checklists, tests, for example) found in the health and psychosocial literature. Content from 1985 to current.
Online Access - 5 simultaneous users - Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Full-text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas.
Online Access - 4 simultaneous users
Online Resources
- Rand Health Care Surveys and ToolsAll surveys and tools on Rand Health Care are public documents and free to access and download.
- NIH Library Research InstrumentsProvides a series of links to other sites that have downloadable instruments.
- NLN Tools and InstrumentsThe National League for Nursing provides a series of tools and instruments for student and research use. Prior to using these resources, be sure to check the link entitled, "View Copyright and Permissions Information for these Instruments" to ensure proper usage.
- Health Measures"HealthMeasures consists of PROMIS, Neuro-QoL, ASCQ-Me, and NIH Toolbox. These four precise, flexible, and comprehensive measurement systems assess physical, mental, and social health, symptoms, well-being and life satisfaction; along with sensory, motor, and cognitive function."