Evidence-Based Practice
Need Help?
Email hslibs@utk.edu for assistance!
UT Libraries' Health, Wellness, and Professional Programs Department is here to help you while Niki is away.
Quality Improvement Resources
- Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) Quality Measure Tools & Resources"Quality improvement measurement, tools, and information, including AHRQ Quality Indicators Hospital Toolkit and ambulatory clinical performance measures."
- Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services Hospital Value-based Purchasing (VBP) Program“The Hospital VBP Program encourages hospitals to improve the quality, efficiency, patient experience and safety of care that Medicare beneficiaries receive during acute care inpatient stays.”
- Estimating the Additional Hospital Inpatient Cost and Mortality Associated With Selected Hospital-Acquired ConditionsResults from the AHRQ report looking at the development of methods and estimation of the incremental inpatient financial costs and additional inpatient mortality associated with 10 selected hospital-acquired conditions.
- Healthcare Effectiveness Data and Information Set (HEDIS)"The Healthcare Effectiveness Data and Information Set (HEDIS) is one of health care’s most widely used performance improvement tools." Includes more than 90 measures over 6 domains of care. Provided by the National Committee for Quality Assurance.
- Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) Quality ToolkitThe HRSA Quality Toolkit includes tools and resources to support quality improvement efforts by healthcare organization. Shared by the National Rural Health Resources Center.
- Hospital Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems (HCAHPS)HCAHPS is a "standardized survey instrument and data collection methodology for measuring patients’ perspectives on hospital care." Also known as CAHPS® Hospital Survey, or Hospital CAHPS.
- IHI Quality Improvement Essentials ToolkitIncludes tools and templates to "launch a successful quality improvement project and manage performance improvement."
- Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI) Model of Improvement"IHI uses the Model for Improvement as the framework to guide improvement work...This model is not meant to replace change models that organizations may already be using, but rather to accelerate improvement."
- Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI) Open SchoolIHI Open School provides "essential training and tools in an online, educational community to help you and your team deliver excellent, safe care."
- Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI) Open School Video LibraryContains more than 150 titles that provide "quick instruction on a wide range of health care improvement topics." Videos include discussion questions, learning objectives, and facilitator guides for group learning.
- Leading Healthcare Quality and SafetyA free course that provides healthcare practitioners and others with an introduction to the knowledge and skills needed to lead patient safety and quality improvement initiatives at the micro and macro levels.
- National Quality Forum (NQF)NQF provides measures and standards for healthcare quality measurement to help healthcare decision-makers.
The Healthcare Quality Book: Vision, Strategy, and Tools, Fifth Edition by ISBN: 9781640553576Publication Date: 2022-11-24The Healthcare Quality Book provides a framework, methodology, and practical approaches to assist healthcare professionals in championing improvement efforts. The book is divided into three sections that cover the fundamentals of healthcare quality, critical quality topics, and key strategies for effectively leading quality. The extensively revised fifth edition of this definitive text brings together healthcare thought leaders with a wide range of subject matter expertise. Chapter contributors explore the foundation of healthcare quality, share their perspectives on essential and cutting-edge topics, and offer strategies for learning the skills to lead a culture of quality. New content includes chapters on health equity and disparities in care and expanded content on quality improvement tools, the patient experience, and digital technologies. The book concludes with three well-developed case studies of quality improvement in action that incorporate the lessons learned in the preceding chapters. The Healthcare Quality Book will assist leaders at all levels in developing a solid foundation of quality leadership knowledge, skills, and tools.
- The Leapfrog GroupLeapfrog provides two surveys: one that collects safety data on ambulatory survey centers (ASCs) and a hospital survey that gathers information about the quality and safety of inpatient care.