Skip to main content

Seed Library & Gardening

This guide will help you find databases, web resources, planting guides, and items in our collection related to the seed library.

Key Resources

Best Bet! ScienceDirect
Collection of Elsevier full-text journals and books. UT has access to contents marked with a green icon. 

Best Bet! Agriculture Databases (Web of Science)
Search several top agricultural sciences databases simultaneously: Biological Abstracts, CABI, Food Science and Technology Abstracts, Web of Science Core Collection, Medline and Zoological Record. Each database may be searched individually as well.

  • Academic Search Complete
    This multi-disciplinary database covers magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers and is a good place to start for any subject. (Formerly Academic Premier)
  • AgEcon Search
    A free, open-access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics. AgEcon searches working papers, conference papers, and journal articles. Subfields indexed include: agribusiness, food supply, natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, agricultural trade, and economic development.
  • AGRIS (1975-present)
    Free agricultural database with an international focus produced by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO). A particulary strong resource for literature from developing countries.
  • CAB eBooks (2000-present)
    Over 600 eBooks published by CABI on the topics of agriculture, animal & veterinary sciences, environmental sciences, human health, food & nutrition, leisure & tourism, and plant sciences.
  • Scopus
    A multidisciplinary database covering peer-reviewed literature in science, engineering, medicine, and social sciences (including some arts & humanities). Coverage is strongest from 1996 to present. Complements of Web of Science.
  • SpringerLink
    Full-text journals (1800s-present) and eBooks (1800s-2016) published by Springer.
  • Web of Science (1900-present)
    The major multidisciplinary index covering journal articles and conference proceedings in sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Provides cited reference searching and journal impact factors.