It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A comprehensive, full-text database of Chinese journals in literature, history, and philosophy from China National Knowledge Infrastructure. Coverage from 1915 to present. Note: We subscribe to Subject F Literature, History, Philosophy only.
An online language learning resource that covers over 70 languages. Courses are accessible from a web browser or app.
First-time users must create a user profile on Mango Languages.
When creating your account for the first time, go through our link here on the A-Z databases page to be connected to UTK. Choose "sign up" and then choose a language to get to the profile set-up area. After account set-up, you can login from anywhere. A user profile allows you to keep track of your progress and test results.
Create an account with TEL to access Transparent Language Online from their website. Find it in the right side bar entitled "Featured Resources."
The Book of Korean Poetry
Korea’s history is divided into four periods: the Three Kingdoms of Koguryo (37 bc–ad 668), Shilla (57 bc–ad 668), and Paekche (18 bc–ad 660); Unified Shilla (668–935); Koryo (935–1392); and Choson (1392–1910). Kevin O’Rourke’s The Book of Korean Poetry traces Korean poetry from the pre-Shilla era to the end of Korea’s golden poetry period in the Koryo dynasty.There are two poetry traditions in Korea: hanshi (poems by Korean poets in Chinese characters) and vernacular poems, which are invariably songs. Hanshi is a poetry to be read and contemplated; the vernacular is a poetry to be sung and heard. Hanshi was aimed at personal cultivation, vernacular poetry primarily at entertainment. Hanshi was a much more private discipli≠ vernacular poetry was composed for the most part against a convivial background of wine, music, and dance. In this comprehensive treatment of the poetry of Shilla and Koryo, O’Rourke divides one hundred fifty poems into five sections: Early Songs, Shilla hanshi, Shilla hyangga, Koryo kayo, and Koryo hanshi and shijo. Only a few pre-Shilla poems are extant; O’Rourke features all five. All fourteen extant Shilla hyangga are included. Seventeen major Koryo kayo are featured; only a few short, incantatory pieces that defied translation were excluded. Fourteen of the fewer than twenty Koryo shijo with claims to authenticity are presented. From the vast number of extant hanshi, O’Rourke selected poems with the most intrinsic merit and universal appeal. In addition to introductory essays on the genres of hanshi, hyangga, Koryo kayo, and shijo, O’Rourke interleaves his graceful translations with commentary on the historical backgrounds, poetic forms, and biographical notes on the poets’ lives as well as guides to the original texts, bibliographical materials, and even anecdotes on how the poems came to be written. Along with the translations themselves, O’Rourke’s annotations of the poems make this volume a particularly interesting and important introduction to the scholarship of East Asian literature.
Provides thousands of biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Includes the main series, documentary, and yearbook volumes.