Asian Studies Specific
- Bibliography of Asian StudiesA Western-language bibliography covering all subjects pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia with a focus on humanities and social science. Coverage from 1971 to present.
- China and the Modern World
Archive collections related to China. The UTK Library has access to the China from Empire to Republic: Missionary, Sinology, and Literary Periodicals (1817-1949) collection.
- Digital Silk RoadDigital archive of books, maps, documents, and photographs related to Asia. English version is available.
History
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Indexes scholarly literature on world history, excluding the United States and Canada. Covers the time period from 1450 to the present.
Online Access - 6 simultaneous users - Medieval Travel Writing
Full-text of important works of European travel writing from the later medieval period. Includes a number of medieval maps, individual manuscript illuminations, and some modern translations of key travel texts.
- Smithsonian Collections Online
Primary source materials from four Smithsonian collections: Evolution of Flight, Trade Literature and the Merchandizing of Industry, World's Fairs and Expositions, and Air & Space and Smithsonian Magazine Archive.
- Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History
Full-text of accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century through to the 20th century. Topics range from race to local customs to war.
Religion
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Indexes journal articles and scholarly essays on world religions and religious perspectives on social issues from 1949 to present.
- Encyclopaedia of Islam
Collective reference work compiled by the most prominent scholars in the field, touching on all aspects of Islam from the time of the Prophet to the present day.
Online Access - 3 simultaneous users - Index Islamicus
An international classified bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world.
General Research
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index : A & HCI
This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary section of Web of Science covering scholarly literature in the arts and humanities from 1975 to present.
- Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
Search across scholarly publications. Review the linked tutorial to personalize your Google Scholar and connect with our University of Tennessee subscriptions. - Humanities International CompleteCitations and selected full-text for key Humanities journals. Excellent for cross-discipline searching.
- JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of selected scholarly journals, books, images, and primary sources in humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Project Muse
Full-text of scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences.
- Taylor & Francis OnlineMultidisciplinary peer-reviewed journals and articles.
- Ulrichsweb
A source of bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types.
- Women's Studies International
A bibliographic database for women’s studies and feminist research. Coverage from 1881 to current.
- World Biographical Information System Online
Provides biographical information on over 6 million people from the 8th century B.C. to the present. Included are 8.5 million digital facsimile articles from biographical reference works.
Culture & Anthropology
- Anthropology OnlineA wide range of written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over.
- Anthropology Plus
Extensive index of materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology and related interdisciplinary research from the 1880s to present.
- AnthroSourceCollection of full-text journals from the American Anthropological Association.
- eHRAF ArchaeologyA full-text collection of archaeological materials organized into archaeological traditions.
- eHRAF World CulturesFull-text collection of ethnographic documents covering all aspects of cultural and social life.
- Ethnographic Video Online
A streaming video collection of resources for the study of human culture and behavior. Covers every region of the world and features the work of influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century.
- Gale Presents : National Geographic Virtual Library (1888-present)A complete archive from 1888 to the present that includes every page and every photograph of National Geographic Magazine.