Your Librarian
--Biology, EEB, BCMB, Microbiology, NIMBioS, GST
--Women, Gender & Sexuality
--Sociology
Women, Gender & Sexuality is a multidisciplinary area, so it may be necessary to search several different databases depending on your topic. Below are several WGS specific databases, but you can find WGS topics in any database (history, sociology, psychology, etc.)
If you are not sure which database to use, please contact me with your topic and I can point you toward the best databases.
Women's Studies and LGBTQ Databases
- Women's Studies International
A bibliographic database for women’s studies and feminist research. Coverage from 1881 to current.
- LGBTQ+ SourceFull-text of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines, newspapers, and books related to gender and sexuality.
Databases on Women Writers & Literature
- Latin American Women WritersProse, poetry, and drama composed by Latin American women from the colonial period in the 17th century to the present. Presents a tool for understanding the diversity and development of Latin America through a feminine perspective.
- Orlando Women's Writing in the British Isles from the Beginnings to the PresentResource for studying the history of women's writing. Includes timelines, bibliographies, and biographical entries that place writers in their historical, cultural, and critical context.
- Black Women WritersLiterature and essays on feminist issues, written by authors from Africa and the African diaspora. Topics include sexism and racism, and black feminism. Coverage from 1760 to current.
- Perdita ManuscriptsContains manuscripts either written or collected by women in Great Britain during the 16th and 17th centuries. Contents include advice, diaries, medical writings, sermon notes, and travel writing.
Additional Databases
- Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary database covers magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers and is a good place to start for any subject.
- Sociological Abstracts
Abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews covering the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences from 1952 to present.
- America : History and Life with Full Text
Indexes scholarly literature on the history of the United States and Canada. Some access to full-text articles is available.
- APA PsycINFO
This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts of international psychological literature from the 1800s to present.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
Includes full-text coverage of journals in communication and mass media studies.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
Dissertations and theses in all disciplines from around the world, many with full-text.
