Open Access Primary Sources
- Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade DatabaseThe Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database comprises more than 35,000 individual slaving expeditions between 1514 and 1866. Records of the voyages have been found in archives and libraries throughout the Atlantic world. They provide information about vessels, enslaved peoples, slave traders and owners, and trading routes. Users can search for information about a particular voyage or group of voyages. The website provides full interactive capability to analyze the data and report results in the form of statistical tables, graphs, maps, a timeline, and an animation.
- Ecclesiastical and Secular Sources for Slave SocietiesDigital copies of ecclesiastical and secular documents related to Africans and Afro-descended peoples in the Americas.
- John Carter Brown Haiti CollectionIncludes rare books, maps and newspapers that tell the story of the founding of the French colony of Saint Domingue (once the most lucrative colony in the Americas), its demise through the Haitian Revolution (the world's only successful slave revolution) and the founding of Haiti in its place.
- John Carter Brown Library Spanish America CollectionFull-text of one of the world's largest collection of books printed in Spanish America. Primarily in Spanish, the site includes links to sub-collections by country.
- Archive of Early American ImagesImages from the John Carter Brown Library at Brown University from 1492 to ca. 1825. Includes both North and South America.
- Chronicling America : Historic American Newspapers
Digitized historical U.S. newspapers. The UT Libraries has added selected Tennessee newspapers to this cooperative venture.
Plan of the Slaver "Vigilante," 1820s
From Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
