Slavery and the Atlantic World: Primary Source Databases

Collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.

Primary source documents from 1490 to 2007 related to the complex subjects of slavery, abolition and social justice from archives and libraries across the Atlantic world.

A collection of 18th and 19th century Caribbean newspapers. Essential for research on colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery and related topics.

Historical Latin American Newspapers published between 1805-1922.

Collection of the Oliveiria Lima Library. Manoel de Oliveira Lima was a Brazilian diplomat, journalist, historian, and book collector who amassed several thousand books and pamphlets documenting Brazilian and Portuguese history and culture.

Collection of scarce printed material published in the American colonies and the United States, including books, pamphlets, and broadsides from 1639 to 1819. Contains the Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans (1639-1800) and Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819.

Full-text collection of U.S. newspapers. See list of titles.

Contains full-text periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.

Primary source material based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography about the Americas. Includes original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, Native Americans, and more from 1500 to 1926.

A NewsBank collection of over 200 full-text U.S. newspapers published by or for African Americans.

A collection of nineteenth and early twentieth century African American newspapers.  In 2024, database moved from the Accessible Archives platform to History Commons platform.

UTK has access to parts 1-13 & part 12 supplement (1927-1909)..

A digitized collection of predominantly London newspapers of the 17th & 18th centuries. Also includes broadsides, newsbooks, pamphlets, periodicals, and a few provincial newspapers.

Full-text and page images of almost every work printed in the British Isles and North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700.

A fully text-searchable corpus of books, pamphlets and broadsides in all subjects published during the 18th Century in the United Kingdom with digitized images.

British newspapers and periodicals, published from 1685-1820, from several US and British Libraries.

The Times (London) is considered the "world's newspaper of record." Full-text to over 200 years of the publication.

Full-text collection of both national and regional British newspapers. Digitized with full article images. 
Coverage from 1732 to 1950.
 

The Times (London) is considered the "world's newspaper of record." Full-text to over 200 years of the publication.