Websites of Interest
- Virtual Religion IndexWide-ranging lists of links organized by subject. Includes religions, denominations and related areas (philosophy, near eastern, east asian, native american studies, etc.)
- Writings of Martin LutherCollection of the 95 Theses and other hymns and writings of Luther.
- Early Church Texts225+ texts from the early Christian church. Includes texts in Greek and Latin.
- Monastic MatrixA "scholarly resource for the study of women's religious communities from 400 to 1600 C.E." Primary sources, biographies, images, etc.
Hodges Contact Info
Have a research question?
Visit us 209 Hodges Library (hours)
Call us (865) 974-4351
Text us (865) 940-0821
Email us
Make an appointment
Finding Articles, Journals, and Books on Christianity
Online Databases and Resources
 |
To locate a copy of an article, look for the Find Text button located near the record of the article in the databases. Click on it to bring up a box that lists full-text and paper copy holdings. |
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Indexes journal articles and scholarly essays on world religions and religious perspectives on social issues from 1949 to present.
- Humanities International CompleteCitations and selected full-text for key Humanities journals. Excellent for cross-discipline searching.
- International Medieval Bibliography
Indexes scholarly articles on Medieval Europe and the Middle East.
- SAGE Knowledge
A large collection of social sciences content published by SAGE and CQ Press. Contains e-books, reference materials, videos, and business cases.
- Christian Muslim Relations
Contains essays, biographies, and an extensive bibliography covering the history of relations between the faiths from 600 to 1500.
The UT Library only has access to Christian Muslim Relations Online I (600-1500). - Acta SanctorumA collection of documents from 1643-1940 examining the lives of saints. Based on the edition published by the Société des Bollandistes in Antwerp and Brussels.
- Patrologia LatinaThe Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216.
- Index of Medieval ArtImages and descriptive data related to the iconography of works of art produced between late Antiquity and the sixteenth century.
UT Catalog Resources
 |
Want help finding books using OneSearch at UT Libraries? The OneSearch tutorial takes you through the highlights. |
Reference Books
The Encyclopedia of Christianity by
The Encyclopedia of Christianity is the first of a five-volume English translation of the third revised edition of Evangelisches Kirchenlexikon. Its German articles have been tailored to suit an English readership, and articles of special interest to English readers have been added. The encyclopedi
Call Number: Hodges Library Reference (BR95 .E8913 1999 )Publication Date: 1998-11-01
Encyclopedia of Early Christianity by
Written by a team of over 160 scholars, the new expanded and revised Encyclopedia is a comprehensive survey of Christianity's first six centuries. The Encyclopedia digests an enormous amount of information, exploring all aspects of its subject from theological, historical and literary viewpoints.
Call Number: Hodges Library Reference (BR162.2 .E53 )Publication Date: 1997-02-01
The Encyclopedia of Eastern Orthodox Christianity by
With a combination of essay-length and short entries written by a team of leading religious experts, the two-volume Encyclopedia of Eastern Orthodoxy offers the most comprehensive guide to the cultural and intellectual world of Eastern Orthodox Christianity available in English today. An outstanding reference work providing the first English language multi-volume account of the key historical, liturgical, doctrinal features of Eastern Orthodoxy, including the Non-Chalcedonian churches Explores of the major traditions of Eastern Orthodoxy in detail, including the Armenian, Byzantine, Coptic, Ethiopic, Slavic, Romanian, Syriac churches Uniquely comprehensive, it is edited by one of the leading scholars in the field and provides authoritative but accessible articles by a range of top international academics and Orthodox figures Spans the period from Late Antiquity to the present, encompassing subjects including history, theology, liturgy, monasticism, sacramentology, canon law, philosophy, folk culture, architecture, archaeology, martyrology, hagiography, all alongside a large and generously detailed prosopography Structured alphabetically and topically cross-indexed, with entries ranging from 100 to 6,000 words
Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2010-11-11
Selected Journals
- Christian CenturyA nondenominational magazine that features articles on religion, politics and other current events.
- The Christian ScholarThe study of Christianity through JSTOR.
- Journal of Early Christian Studiesfocuses on the study of Christianity in the context of late ancient societies and religions from C.E. 100-700.