Websites of Interest
- Pirkei Avot - Ethics of the FathersOnline text of the Pikei Avot English.
- Hebrew Bible vocalized, with textsIncludes parallel Hebrew and English texts, with clickable sound files for the spoken Hebrew.
- Biblia HebraicaThe text of the first edition of Kittel's Biblia Hebraica (sometimes identified as BH1), via the Internet Archive, hosted by the Univ. of Toronto.
- Babylonian TalmudAccessible online English text from archive.org.
Hodges Contact Info
Have a research question?
Visit us 209 Hodges Library (hours)
Call us (865) 974-4351
Text us (865) 940-0821
Email us
Make an appointment
Finding Articles, Journals, and Books on Islam
Online Databases and Resources
 |
To locate a copy of an article, look for the Find Text button located near the record of the article in the databases. Click on it to bring up a box that lists full-text and paper copy holdings. |
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Indexes journal articles and scholarly essays on world religions and religious perspectives on social issues from 1949 to present.
- Humanities International CompleteCitations and selected full-text for key Humanities journals. Excellent for cross-discipline searching.
- International Medieval Bibliography
Indexes scholarly articles on Medieval Europe and the Middle East.
- SAGE Knowledge
A large collection of social sciences content published by SAGE and CQ Press. Contains e-books, reference materials, videos, and business cases.
UT Catalog Resources
 |
Want help finding books using OneSearch at UT Libraries? The OneSearch tutorial takes you through the highlights. |
Reference Books
Judaism by
For a group of people so limited in number, the Jewish community has had a huge impact on both global events and local politics. In this vibrant new look at Judaism, sociologist and cultural critic Keith Kahn-Harris provides a remarkably sharp insight into this history, and particularly the diverse Jewish communities (and diverse ideas of Jewishness) that exist today.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks (BM565 .K346 2012 )Publication Date: 2010-05-28
Book of Jewish Knowledge by
an encyclopedia of Judaism and the Jewish people, covering all elements of Jewish life from Biblical times to the present
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks (BM50 .A8)ISBN: 0517097460Publication Date: 1986-07-09
Encyclopedia of Judaism by
Encyclopedia of Judaism explores a tradition that has a 2,000-year recorded history and has been a part of the culture of almost every country and society around the globe. Encapsulating all things Jewish - language, laws, literature, arts, theology, ritual, land, culture, and personalities - this authoritative volume offers readers access to Judaism from both a historical and contemporary perspective.
Call Number: Hodges Library Reference (BM50 .K37 2006)Publication Date: 2005-11-01
Scripture and Tradition in Judaism by Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks (BS1160 .V4 1973)Publication Date: 1973-01-01
Selected Journals
- Journal of Jewish StudiesPublished in association with the Society for Jewish Study and the Institute of Jewish Studies
- Conservative Judaismsponsored by the Rabbinical Assembly and the Jewish Theological Seminary, publishes articles which express a serious, critical inquiry of Jewish texts and traditions, legacy, and law; further the quest for a Conservative Jewish theology and ideology; and explore today's changing Jewish community.