Websites of Interest
- Chinese Philosophical Etext ArchiveMaintained by Wesleyan University. Texts are in Chinese. Confucian texts may be found here.
- Ancient Buddhist TextsMaterials from the early and medieval Buddhist tradition covering texts in Pāli and Sanskrit; line by line (interlinear) texts and translations; translations in English only; studies of grammar, prosody and compilation; maps, reference works and audio files.
- Internet Sacred Texts Archive-HinduismIncludes Hindu hymns, poetry, and other sacred materials.
Research Tip*
Research Tip: Spelling
When performing research in religious studies, there are often many variant spellings for the same term (especially in Asian religions, such as Tao versus Dao). Thus, it can be helpful to try out multiple spellings if you are having trouble finding information.
Finding Articles, Journals, and Books on Eastern Traditions
Online Databases and Resources
Resources for the study of Buddhism, Taoism, Hinduism, Confucianism, and other eastern traditional beliefs.
 |
To locate a copy of an article, look for the Find Text button located near the record of the article in the databases. Click on it to bring up a box that lists full-text and paper copy holdings. |
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Indexes journal articles and scholarly essays on world religions and religious perspectives on social issues from 1949 to present.
- Humanities International CompleteCitations and selected full-text for key Humanities journals. Excellent for cross-discipline searching.
- Project Muse
Full-text of scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences.
- International Medieval Bibliography
Indexes scholarly articles on Medieval Europe and the Middle East.
- Bibliography of Asian StudiesA Western-language bibliography covering all subjects pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia with a focus on humanities and social science. Coverage from 1971 to present.
- SAGE Knowledge
A large collection of social sciences content published by SAGE and CQ Press. Contains e-books, reference materials, videos, and business cases.
- China Academic Journals Full-text DatabaseA comprehensive, full-text database of Chinese journals in literature, history, and philosophy from China National Knowledge Infrastructure. Coverage from 1915 to present. Note: We subscribe to Subject F Literature, History, Philosophy only.
- Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary database covers magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers and is a good place to start for any subject.
UT Catalog Resources
 |
Want help finding books using OneSearch at UT Libraries? The OneSearch tutorial takes you through the highlights. |
Reference Books
Encyclopedia of Buddhism by
Providing a comprehensive overview of one of Asia's most important religious and social forces, the "Encyclopedia of Buddhism describes the Buddhist world view, basic teachings and practices of Buddhism, as well as its different schools and sects. In addition to containing entries on Buddhist scriptures, art, architecture, saints, demons, monastic orders, festivals, rites and ceremonies, this new two-volume set explores the history of Buddhism, the different forms it has taken in different parts of the world, and how Buddhism has blended with other religions like Shinto, Confucianism, Taoism and Christianity.
Call Number: Hodges Library Reference (BQ128 .E62 2004 )Publication Date: 2005-06-01
The Shambhala Guide to Taoism by
An introduction to Taoism, divided into three sections: history of Taoism, systems of Taoism and Taoist practices. The book follows Taoism from its Shamanic roots in Chinese prehistory to the classical period of Lao-Tzu, through to the Taoism of today. It examines the various schools and practices of Taoism such as meditation techniques, ways of cultivating the body, divination practices, ceremonies, the rites of purification, and talismanic magic.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks (BL1910 .W66 1997 )Publication Date: 1996-12-17
Confucianism in Context by
A wide-ranging consideration of Confucianism for Western readers.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks (BL1853 .C73 2010) and eBookPublication Date: 2010-11-10
The Encylcopedia of Confucianism by
The Encyclopedia, the first of its kind, introduces Confucianism as a whole, with 1,235 entries giving full information on its history, doctrines, schools, rituals, sacred places and terminology, and on the adaptation, transformation and new thinking taking place in China and other Eastern Asian countries. An indispensable source for further study and research for students and scholars.
Call Number: Hodges Library Reference (BL1840 .R68 2003 )Publication Date: 2003-08-19
Teach Yourself - Hinduism by
Teach Yourself Hinduismis an easy-to-comprehend introduction to this ancient religion. Although it is the third largest religion in the world and boasts hundreds of millions of followers, many of us in the West remain unfamiliar with what it means to be Hindu. Here readers will find out about the religion's origins, beliefs, culture, and more.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks (BL1105 .K36 2003 )ISBN: 0071419624Publication Date: 2003-04-22
Selected Journals
- The Asia Journal of TheologyEncourages Asian Biblical scholarship & theological thinking to relate the Gospel to cultural, historical & religious situation in Asia. Through Academic Search Premier
- Journal of Hindu studies (Online)A critical approach to Hindu Studies, focusing on themes that address overarching issues within the field, publishing the proceedings of research projects and conferences, and providing a forum for peer-reviewed articles. Through Oxford Journals