Hodges Contact Info
Have a research question?
Visit us 209 Hodges Library (hours)
Call us (865) 974-4351
Text us (865) 940-0821
Email us
Make an appointment
Selected Websites
- Religion of IslamAn interactive website designed to teach unaffiliated individuals different lessons about Muslims, Muslim Culture and the Quran.
- Islamic Society of North AmericaProvides a variety of services, programs, and leadership opportunities for Muslims living in North America. It is the largest national Muslim organization in the USA.
- Sacred Texts-IslamIndex of links to copies of sacred texts from across religions.
- Database of MMasjids, Mosques and Islamic Centers in the U.S.Searchable database of Islamic worship centers in the US.
Finding Articles, Journals, and Books on Islam
Online Databases and Resources
 |
To locate a copy of an article, look for the Find Text button located near the record of the article in the databases. Click on it to bring up a box that lists full-text and paper copy holdings. |
- Index Islamicus
An international classified bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world.
- Brockelmann Online
Brockelmann’s Geschichte der arabischen Litteratur offers bio-bibliographic information about works written in Arabic and their authors, with an emphasis on the classical period.
- Humanities International CompleteCitations and selected full-text for key Humanities journals. Excellent for cross-discipline searching.
- Encyclopaedia of Islam
Collective reference work compiled by the most prominent scholars in the field, touching on all aspects of Islam from the time of the Prophet to the present day.
Online Access - 3 simultaneous users - ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Indexes journal articles and scholarly essays on world religions and religious perspectives on social issues from 1949 to present.
- Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an
An encyclopedic dictionary of quranic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within quranic studies.
- International Medieval Bibliography
Indexes scholarly articles on Medieval Europe and the Middle East.
- SAGE Knowledge
A large collection of social sciences content published by SAGE and CQ Press. Contains e-books, reference materials, videos, and business cases.
UT Catalog Resources
 |
Want help finding books using OneSearch at UT Libraries? The OneSearch tutorial takes you through the highlights. |
Reference Books
What Everyone Needs to Know about Islam by In the aftermath of the terrorist attacks of September 11th, there has been an overwhelming demand for information about Islam. As a leading expert, John Esposito has found himself called upon to speak to a wide range of audiences, including members of Congress, the Bush administration, government agencies, the military, and the media. Out of this experience, he has identified the most pressing questions people consistently ask about Islam. In What Everyone Needs to Know about Islam, Esposito presents in question-and-answer format the information that most people want to know. Esposito provides succinct, accessible, sensitive, and even-handed answers to questions that range from the general-"What do Muslims believe?" and "Who was Muhammad?"-to more specific issues like Is Islam compatible with modernization, capitalism and democracy? How do Muslims view Judaism and Christianity? Are women second-class citizens in Islam? What is jihad? Does the Quran condone terrorism? What does Islam say about homosexuality, birth control, abortion, and slavery?; As the editor of The Oxford Encyclopedia of Modern Islam and The Oxford History of Islam, and author of Unholy War and many other acclaimed works, John Esposito is one of America's leading authorities on Islam. This brief and readable book is the first place to look for information on the faith, customs, and political beliefs of the more than one billion people who call themselves Muslims.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks (BP163 .E85 2002) and eBookISBN: 1423746724Publication Date: 2002-01-01
The Oxford History of Islam by
Lavishly illustrated with over 300 pictures, including more than 200 in full color, The Oxford History of Islam offers the most wide-ranging and authoritative account available of the second largest--and fastest growing--religion in the world. John L. Esposito, Editor-in-Chief of the four-volume Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, has gathered together sixteen leading scholars, both Muslim and non-Muslim, to examine the origins and historical development of Islam--its faith, community, institutions, sciences, and arts. Beginning in the pre-Islamic Arab world, the chapters range from the story of Muhammad and his Companions, to the development of Islamic religion and culture and the empires that grew from it, to the influence that Islam has on today's world. The book covers a wide array of subjects, casting light on topics such as the historical encounter of Islam and Christianity, the role of Islam in the Mughal and Ottoman empires, the growth of Islam in Southeast Asia, China, and Africa, the political, economic, and religious challenges of European imperialism in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, and Islamic communities in the modern Western world. In addition, the book offers excellent articles on Islamic religion, art and architecture, and sciences as well as bibliographies. Events in the contemporary world have led to an explosion of interest and scholarly work on Islam. Written for the general reader but also appealing to specialists, The Oxford History of Islam offers the best of that recent scholarship, presented in a readable style and complemented by a rich variety of illustrations.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks (BP50 .O95 1999) and eBookISBN: 0195107993Publication Date: 2000-04-06
Selected Journals
- Islamic Studies JournalJournal of the Central Institute of Islamic Research in Pakistan.
- Journal of Islamic StudiesA multi-disciplinary publication dedicated to the scholarly study of all aspects of Islam and of the Islamic world. Particular attention is paid to works dealing with history, geography, political science, economics, anthropology, sociology, law, literature, religion, philosophy, international relations, environmental and developmental issues, as well as ethical questions related to scientific research.
- Journal of Arabic and Islamic StudiesSeeks to promote study of Arabic language and linguistics, medieval and modern Arabic literature, and Islamic civilization.