About the Guide
This guide showcases the many library resources offered to the University of Tennessee in Religious Studies. 
Research Tip*
Spelling
When performing research in religious studies, there are often many variant spellings for the same term (especially in Asian religions, such as Tao versus Dao). Thus, it can be helpful to try out multiple spellings if you are having trouble finding information.
Finding Religious Articles
Databases and Online Reference
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Indexes journal articles and scholarly essays on world religions and religious perspectives on social issues from 1949 to present.
- Humanities International CompleteCitations and selected full-text for key Humanities journals. Excellent for cross-discipline searching.
- Oxford Academic
A multi-disciplinary collection of Oxford ebooks and journals.
- Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary database covers magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers and is a good place to start for any subject.
- International Medieval Bibliography
Indexes scholarly articles on Medieval Europe and the Middle East.
- MLA International Bibliography
Index of research in literature, language, and folklore. Also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus. Coverage from 1920 to present.
- SAGE Knowledge
A large collection of social sciences content published by SAGE and CQ Press. Contains e-books, reference materials, videos, and business cases.
Finding books
Encyclopedias and Books from the Catalog
Encyclopedia of Religion
Among Library Journal's selections of the most important reference works of the millennium - with the Encyclopedia Judaica and the New Catholic Encyclopedia - Mircea Eliade's Encyclopedia of Religion won the American Library Associations' Dartmouth Medal in 1988 and is widely regarded as the standard reference work in the field. This second edition, which is intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since 1987, will include almost all of the 2750 original entries - many heavily updated - as well as approximately 600 (1.2M words) entirely new articles. Preserving the best of Eliade's cross-cultural approach while emphasizing religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture, this new edition will be the definitive work in the field for the 21st century. An international team of scholars and contributors have reviewed, revised and added to every word of a classic work to make it relevant to the questions and interests of readers, whether students, specialists, or laypersons. The result is an essential purchase for libraries of all kinds. Every article from the first edition was evaluated by our board of scholars. of study are given their own entries. New composite entries present overarching themes - for example, gender and religion, politics and religion - with each article within the composite covering a different religious tradition. Many of the reprinted articles from the first-edition have updated bibliographies. This is an indispensable resource for any school with a department or programme in religious studies. Additionally, articles support the curriculum and general research in history, gender studies, language and literature, music, the visual arts, history, politics, ecology, health and medicine, law, sociology and anthropology. Three Colour inserts serve as pictorial essays illuminating themes such as pilgrimage, prayer, healing, and how these concepts are displayed in various religions throughout the world. Illustrations go beyond the typical stock imagery and present images of authentic value not readily available elsewhere.
Call Number: Hodges Library Reference (BL31 .E46 2005 )ISBN: 0028657330Publication Date: 2004-12-17
Encyclopedia of Religion in America by
A multidisciplinary examination of religion in American life nbsp; Encyclopedia of Religion in America examines how religious history and practices are woven into the political, social, cultural, and historical landscape of North America. This authoritative four-volume reference work explains the origins, development, adaptation, influence, and interrelations of the many faiths practiced, including major world religions, new religious sects, cults, and religious movements that originated or had an influence in the United States. nbsp; Edited by well-known experts in the field, the Encyclopedia covers all the significant religious denominations and movements that have originated or flourished in North America, from the beginning of European settlement to the present day. The broad multidisciplinary coverage includes the religious life of indigenous peoples, specific aspects of religious life, and the relationship of political, social, economic, and cultural spheres. nbsp; Topics include: Religion as an influential force in the U.S. Methods of worship Religion and politics Homosexuality and religion African American religion Arts and architecture Church-state issues Education Environment and ecology Ethnicity Evangelicals Faiths Gay and lesbian issues Historical overviews Immigration Media (new and old) Megachurches Movements and denominations New religious movements Popular religion and culture Race and racism Religious thought Religious Right Rites Role of women Terrorism and war nbsp; Encyclopedia of Religion in America is an essential resource for students and scholars researching issues in a wide variety of social science disciplines, from American history to cultural studies, political science, gender studies, psychology of religion, and more. It reflects new scholarly research and interpretation that have emerged over the last two decades, as well as significant new areas of study, such as post-9/11 America, the role of gays and lesbians in church, gender, and the role of the evangelicals in American political life.
Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2010-06-01
Encyclopedia of Religion and War by
Encyclopedia of Religion and War is volume 5 of Routledge's series of Religion and Society encyclopedias. Religion has been a powerful element is many world conflicts throughout history, such as the Crusades or today's war on terrorism. About 140 alphabetically arranged entries cover five major topics: (1) The role of war in the development and spread of major religions, e.g. the role of war in the spread of Islam. Topics will also survey major world religions as well as sects such as the Quakers (2) The role of religion in major wars, including specific events such as the Crusades. (3) Religious Wars in Europe (1559-1715), a topic most studied by historians and a primary component of European history courses. Coverage includes the French religious wars, the Schmalkaldic War, and the Thirty Years' War. (4) Theology and war including ideas such as holy war, jihad, total war, social gospel, just war, pacifism, nuclear war, and events such as the Sermon of the Mount and the Challenge of Peace pastoral letter. (5) Religious based conflicts and wars in the contemporary world including Bosnia, Cyprus, Cote d'Ivoire, India, Indonesia, Kashmir, Kosovo, Kurdistan, Macedonia, Israel, Nigeria
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks (BL80.3 .E53 2004 )Publication Date: 2003-12-04
Eerdmans' Handbook to the World's Religions by
A comprehensive guide to the world's religions both past and present, this volume includes a glossary of over 1100 quick reference entries; articles on issues of particular concern for the late-20th century; 200 photographs, and numerous charts, maps and diagrams.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 0585147450Publication Date: 1998-01-01
Changing World Religion Map by
This extensive work explores the changing world of religions, faiths and practices. It discusses a broad range of issues and phenomena that are related to religion, including nature, ethics, secularization, gender and identity. Broadening the context, it studies the interrelation between religion and other fields, including education, business, economics and law. The book presents a vast array of examples to illustrate the changes that have taken place and have led to a new world map of religions. Beginning with an introduction of the concept of the "changing world religion map", the book first focuses on nature, ethics and the environment. It examines humankind's eternal search for the sacred, and discusses the emergence of "green" religion as a theme that cuts across many faiths. Next, the book turns to the theme of the pilgrimage, illustrated by many examples from all parts of the world. In its discussion of the interrelation between religion and education, it looks at the role of missionary movements. It explains the relationship between religion, business, economics and law by means of a discussion of legal and moral frameworks, and the financial and business issues of religious organizations. The next part of the book explores the many "new faces" that are part of the religious landscape and culture of the Global North (Europe, Russia, Australia and New Zealand, the U.S. and Canada) and the Global South (Latin America, Africa and Asia). It does so by looking at specific population movements, diasporas, and the impact of globalization. The volume next turns to secularization as both a phenomenon occurring in the Global religious North, and as an emerging and distinguishing feature in the metropolitan, cosmopolitan and gateway cities and regions in the Global South. The final part of the book explores the changing world of religion in regards to gender and identity issues, the political/religious nexus, and the new worlds associated with the virtual technologies and visual media.
Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2015-02-03
Britannica Encyclopedia of World Religions by Call Number: eBook
