Essential Databases for Finding Articles - Nursing 482: Clinical Immersion V - Population Health - Research Guides at University of Tennessee Knoxville

Best Bets

CINAHL Complete
The most inclusive index for the field of nursing. Includes coverage of other allied health areas such as occupational therapy, physical therapy, and more. Unlimited users.
CINAHL Tutorial || Introduction
Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing EBSCOhost databases or ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
Health Policy Reference Center
Full-text resources covering all aspects of health policy and related issues.
Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing EBSCOhost databases or ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
PubMed
The single most important database for biomedicine.
PubMed Help || Tutorial
APA PsycINFO
The premier database for journal articles, books and dissertations in all areas of psychology.
R2 Digital Library
E-books and downloadable images primarily for nursing, medicine, and allied health.
UpToDate
An evidence-based medicine (EBM) tool that assists healthcare providers with point-of-care decisions.
Access provided by UT Medical Center.
Scopus
A multidisciplinary database covering peer-reviewed literature in science, engineering, medicine, and social sciences (including some arts & humanities). Coverage is strongest for 1996 to present. Complements Web of Science. Considered to be stronger for Nursing than Web of Science.
Web of Science
Important multidisciplinary index for the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Includes cited reference searching and indicators for evaluating the impact of research. Video Tutorials
Please see this FAQ for accessibility workarounds for accessing Web of Science. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.

Other Useful Databases

Academic Search Complete
All-purpose, multidisciplinary database that offers a blend of scholarly and popular coverage.
Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing EBSCOhost databases or ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.

Agricola 1970+
Coverage of food and nutrition—from the USDA.

Cochrane Library
A unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. An important resource for evidence-based medicine.
If the content of a Wiley database is inaccessible to you, please contact eproblems@utk.edu for assistance.
Users of keyboard or swipe/gesture navigation may require assistance with this resource and should avoid MacOS or iOS devices. Please contact eproblems@utk.edu for further assistance.
ComDisDome
An indexing and abstracting tool covering the communications disorders literature, with focus on speech-language pathology and audiology. Coverage from 1950 to current.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection
Encompasses all aspects of the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies.
ERIC / EBSCOhost
The premiere database for journal articles and documents in all areas of education.
Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing EBSCOhost databases or ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
Health Policy Reference Center
Full-text resources covering all aspects of health policy and related issues.
Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing EBSCOhost databases or ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
Homeland Security Digital Library
Full-text, searchable collection of resources related to homeland security policy, strategy and organizational management.

MedlinePlus
Provides consumer health information resources about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues. Maintained by the National Library of Medicine.

Nexis Uni
Provides legal news, business, and cases and codes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions. Also includes legal research sources and business information for US and international companies.
Users of keyboard navigation may require assistance with this resource. Please contact eproblems@utk.edu for help.
PAIS Index
Excellent source for public and social policy

Social Work Abstracts
Coverage of social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more. Abstracts of dissertations included since 1996. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.

Sociological Abstracts
The primary source of access to the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines.