Skip to Main Content

Music: Choral: Print Resources

Browse the Stacks!

Use call number ranges to browse the physical collection:

ML47-54.8 Librettos, texts, scenarios.
ML128.C Choral music–Bibliography
ML128.V7 Vocal music–Bibliography
ML132.C5 Choral music–Graded lists
ML1500-1554 General history of music
ML2400-3275 Secular choral music
ML2900-3275 Sacred choral music
MT85 Choral conducting
MT110-115 Analytical guides –oratorios, cantatas
MT875, 930 Choral techniques, choirs

Select Print Resources

Retrieve these resources from the Music Library Stacks:

Diction

Opera Choruses by Rutter, J., ed.
Call Number: M1507.O637 1995
Pronunciation Guide for Choral Literature: French, German, Hebrew, Italian, Latin, Spanish by May, W.
Call Number: MT883.M38

Conducting, Arranging, Notation

Contemporary Choral Arranging by Ostrander, A.
Call Number: MT70.5.O87 1986
Conducting Choral Music by Garretson, R.
Call Number: MT85.G175C6 1988
Modern Conductor by Green, E.
Call Number: MT85.G785 1997
In Quest of Answers: Interviews with American Choral Conductors by Glenn, C.
Call Number: MT85.I5 1991
Choral Conducting by Kaplan, A.
Call Number: MT85.K3278 1985
Conscience of a Profession: Howard Swan, Choral Director by Swan, H.
Call Number: MT85.S898 1987

Conductors, Biography

English ways: conversations with English choral conductors by Sandborg, Jeffrey, ed.
Call Number: ML402.S26 2001
J.S. Bach’s Major Works for Voices and Instruments: A Listener’s Guide by Unger, Melvin P.
Call Number: ML410.B13U54 2005
Performing Monteverdi: A Conductor’s Guide by Conlon, Joan Catoni
Call Number: ML410.M77C66 2001
The Robert Shaw Reader by Blocker, Robert
Call Number: ML422.S52A3 2004

History, Performance, and Analysis

Choral Music: History, Style, and Performance Practice by Garretson, R.
Call Number: ML1500.G37 1993
Survey of Choral Music by Ulrich, H.
Call Number: ML1500.U44
Source Readings in American Choral Music by DeVenney, D.
Call Number: ML1511.D478 1995
A Short History of English Church Music by Routley, E.
Call Number: ML2931.R68
History of the Oratorio by Smither, H.
Call Number: ML3201.S6 v.1-4
Chorus and Community by Ahlquist, Karen, ed.
Call Number: ML1500.C59 2006
Choral masterworks from Bach to Britten: Reflections of a Conductor by Summer, Robert J.
Call Number: ML1500.S86 2007
The Choral Music of Twentieth-Century Women Composers: Elisabeth Lutyens, Elizabeth Maconchy, and Thea Musgrave by Roma, Catherine
Call Number: ML1506.R66 2006
Choral masterworks: A Listener’s Guide by Steinberg, Michael
Call Number: MT110.S74 2005
Hearing Bach’s Passions by Melamed, Daniel R.
Call Number: MT115.B2M43 2005
Bach's Passions by Steinitz, P.
Call Number: MT115.B2S73

Pedagogy

Choral Director's Rehearsal & Performance Guide by Gordon, L.
Call Number: MT85.G74 1989
Choral Concepts by Neuen, D.
Call Number: MT85.N48 2002
Beyond the Downbeat: Choral Rehearsal Skills and Techniques by Willetts, S.
Call Number: MT85.W58 2000
Sound Advice: Becoming a Better Children's Choir Conductor by Bartle, J. A.
Call Number: MT88.B35 2003
The Choral Singer's Companion by Corp, R.
Call Number: MT875.C68 1987
Building Choral Excellence: Teaching Sight-Singing in the Choral Rehearsal by Demorest, S. M.
Call Number: MT875.D46 2001
Voice Buiding for Choirs by Ehmann, W.
Call Number: MT875.E3613 1982
Group Vocal Technique by Haasemann, F.
Call Number: MT875.H27G7 1991
Pragmatic Choral Procedures by Hammar, R.
Call Number: MT875.H18 1984
Voiceworks: A Handbook for Singing by Hunt, P.
Call Number: MT875.H86 2001 + CD7911
Directing the Children's Choir: A Comprehensive Resource by McRae, Shirley W.
Call Number: MT915.M49 1991
Teaching Choral Music by Collins, D. L.
Call Number: MT930.C58 1999
Vocal Music Education by Miller, K.
Call Number: MT930.M59 1988
Choral Music Education by Roe, P.
Call Number: MT930.R65 1983
Teaching Kids to Sing by Phillips, K.
Call Number: MT935.P53 1992

Pedagogy (Conducting)

Choral Conducting: Philosophy and Practice by Durrant, Colin
Call Number: MT85.D76 2003
Face to Face with Orchestra and Chorus: A Handbook for Choral Conductors by Moses, Don, et al.
Call Number: MT85.M68 2004
Prescriptions for Choral Excellence: Tone, Text, Dynamic Leadership by Emmons, Shirlee and Constance Chase
Call Number: MT875.E46 2006
A Handbook for Beginning Choral Educators by Lamble, Walter
Call Number: MT875.L35 2004
Choral Performance: A Guide to Historical Practice by Plank, Steven E.
Call Number: MT875.P53 2004
Choral Pedagogy by Smith, Brenda and Robert Thayer Sataloff
Call Number: MT875.S63 1999
Teaching Music Through Performance in Choir by Buchanan, Heather J. and Matthew W. Mehaffey, eds.
Call Number: MT875.T33 2005
On becoming a conductor : lessons and meditations on the art of conducting by Battisti, Frank L.
Call Number: MT85 .B26 2007

Subject Headings

Use Subject Headings to help you locate items in the online catalog:

CHOIRS (MUSIC)
CHORAL MUSIC
CHORAL MUSIC–HISTORY
CHORAL SPEAKING
CHORAL RECITATIONS
CHORAL SINGING
CHORAL SINGING-INTERPRETATION (Phrasing, dynamics, etc.)
CHORAL SINGING–JUVENILE
CHORAL SOCIETIES
CHORAL SPEAKING
CHORAL CONDUCTING
CHORAL CONDUCTORS
PERFORMANCE PRACTICE (MUSIC)
VOCAL ENSEMBLES

Reference Books

Retrieve these resources from the Music Library Reference Room:

Musical America: International Directory of the Performing Arts
Call Number: Ref. ML13.M83
(Provides a comprehensive list of music schools, summer music camps, music festivals, competitions, performance venues, and scholarship and financial aid information.)
Translations and Annotations of Choral Repertoire v.1 Sacred Latin Texts v.2 German Texts by Jeffers, Ron
Call Number: ML47.J4 1988
Texts of the Choral Works of J. S. Bach by Drinker, Henry
Call Number: ML49.B22 v.1-4
English Texts to the Vocal Works of Heinrich Schütz by Drinker, Henry
Call Number: ML49.S39
Historical Dictionary of Sacred Music
Call Number: ML102.C5 S83 2006
Worship music: A Concise Dictionary by Foley, Edward, ed.
Call Number: ML102.C5 W67 2000
German Sacred Polyphonic Vocal Music Between Schütz and Bach: Sources and Critical Editions by Walker, Diane and Paul Walker
Call Number: ML111.D48 no.67
Choral literature for Sundays and Seasons by Ellingboe, Bradley, ed.
Call Number: ML128.C48C47 2004
Choral Music Reviews Index by Sharpe, A.
Call Number: ML128.C48C5
American Choral Music Since 1920: An Annotated Guide by DeVenney, D.
Call Number: ML128.C48D45 1993
The Chorus in Opera: A Guide to the Repertory by DeVenney, David P. and Craig R. Johnson
Call Number: ML128.C48D47 1993
Nineteenth-century American Choral Music by DeVenney, D.
Call Number: ML128.C48D48 1987
A Conductor's Guide to Choral-orchestral Works, Classical Period by Green, J. A
Call Number: ML128.C48 G703 2002
A Conductor's Guide to Choral-Orchestral Works by Green, J.
Call Number: ML128.C48G7 1994
A Conductor’s Guide to the Choral-Orchestral Works of J.S. Bach by Green, Jonathan
Call Number: ML128.C48G74 2000
Choral Music: A Research and Information Guide by Sharp, A.
Call Number: ML128.C48S53 2002
Choral Music by African-American Composers: A Selected, Annotated Bibliography by White, E.
Call Number: ML128.C48W5 1996
Twentieth Century Choral Music: An Annotated Bibliography of Music Suitable for Use by High School Choirs by White, J.
Call Number: ML128.C48W53 1990
Catalogue of Choral Music Arranged in Biblical Order by Laster, J.
Call Number: ML128.C54 L4 1996
Church and Worship music: An Annotated Bibliography of Contemporary Scholarship a Research and Information Guide by Sharp, Avery T. and James Michael Floyd
Call Number: ML128.C54 S53 2005
Early American Choral Music: An Annotated Guide by DeVenney, D.
Call Number: ML128.V7D43 1988
Schwann Artist Guide
Call Number: ML156.2.S383 21st 2001
Consult by names of Choral Groups. This title is out of print; no more volumes will be received.
Choral Music on Record by Blyth, A.
Call Number: ML156.4.V7C54 1991
Diction for Singers by Wall, Joan, et al.
Call Number: MT872.D43 1990
International Phonetic Alphabet for Singers by Wall, Joan, et al.
Call Number: MT872.W187 1989
The Choral Singer's Companion by Corp, Ronald
Call Number: MT875.C68 1987
Singing in English : A Manual of English Diction for Singers and Choral Directors by Cox, Richard
Call Number: MT883 .C7 1990