Introduction
March 2023 - I am working on expanding and improving this Research Guide. Please contact me if you have questions or suggestions! - - Louisa Trott, Arts & Humanities Librarian
Databases for Articles and Other Resources
Full-Text Databases (Find Complete Articles)
- Art Full TextA multidisciplinary database of art information featuring full-text articles dating back to 1995, indexing and abstracting dating as far back as 1984 as well as indexing and abstracting of art dissertations.
- Humanities International CompleteCitations and selected full-text for key Humanities journals. Excellent for cross-discipline searching.
- JSTORMultidisciplinary collection of selected scholarly journals, books, images, and primary sources in humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Project MuseFull-text of scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences.
Citation Indexes (Link to or Request Articles)
Use Interlibrary Loan to get articles or books you find but that we don't have in our collections. Scroll down to "Borrowing from Other Libraries" at the end of this page to find out more.
- ARTbibliographies ModernSearch this index for journal articles, books, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.
- Art Index RetrospectiveAn archive index chronicling art literature, including fine, decorative and commercial art from 1929 to 1984.
- Arts & Humanities Citation IndexMultidisciplinary section of Web of Science covering scholarly literature in the arts and humanities from 1975 to present.
- International Bibliography of ArtProvides scholarly literature on Western Art. For material published between 1975 and 2007, also use the Getty Research Institute's Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA), available for free on their site.
Specialized Databases
Resources for finding images, books and digitized books, and databases focusing on geographic areas or time periods (or providing general reference information) are listed below.
Images
Consider looking in Duke Libraries Digital Collections for many historical advertisements and other images. The Library of Congress has many digitized collections of photographs and other images in their Digital Collections.
- ARTStorMore than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences. With a registered account you can also curate groups of images, share them, and download them directly into presentations.
Books and Digitized Books
Use Interlibrary Loan to request books and articles we don't own or have accessible at the UT Libraries. Scroll down to "Borrowing from Other Libraries" at the end of this page to find out more.
- HathiTrust Digital LibraryA collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
- FirstSearchSearch millions of bibliographic records from worldwide library collections.
Other Specialized Databases
- Design & Applied Arts IndexBibliographic access to design, craft and applied arts journals and newspapers, and data on designers and studios. Coverage from 1973 to current.
- Index of Medieval ArtImages and descriptive data related to the iconography of works of art produced between late Antiquity and the sixteenth century.
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and RenaissanceExplore Iter Press databases, bibliographies, journals, and books about the Middle Ages and Renaissance, 400-1700.
- Oxford Art OnlineSearch all aspects of art research, including biographies, art forms, geographical areas and time periods, collectors, patrons, styles and themes.
- Oxford English DictionaryOED is the pre-eminent historical dictionary of the English language. New content continuously added.
- Oxford Reference OnlineMulti-disciplinary reference collection including dictionaries, timelines, quotations, and other reference resources.
Requesting Articles & Books
Getting Items at UT Libraries
 |
To locate a copy of an article, look for the Find Text button located near the record of the article in the databases. Click on it to bring up a box that lists full-text and paper copy holdings. |
Use our Step-by-Step Guide to "Get It" Library Services:
- If we have a copy of a journal in print, and it's not checked out, and you need a single article from it (or you need a single chapter from a book on the shelf), you may request a PDF using the UT Libraries' Scan on Demand Service.
-
Graduate students and Faculty may request delivery of books to their departmental office using Library Express. Undergraduate students may request an available book be held at the library's check-out desk for them.
Borrowing from Other Libraries
If the Libraries do not subscribe to or have access to a journal (or book) that you need, request it from another library using UT Libraries' Interlibrary Loan Services.
