Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

U.S. Presidents: Debates/Elections/Speeches

Information Sources for U.S. Presidents

Speeches

American Leaders Speak, Recordings from World War I and the 1920 Election - Recordings of brief speeches by presidents and major public figures, 1918-1920.

The American Presidency Project - Includes almost 30,000 historical documents, many of them speeches.

 

Signing Statements

Presidential Signing Statements - Hoover to Obama - The American Presidency Project
Find signing statements giving reasons for support of a law. 

Debates/Elections

The Great Debate and Beyond: The History of Televised Presidential DebatesVideos, headlines, and commentary on the presidential debates from 1960-2000. Includes essays, statistics, and interviews of scholars.

The Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials, 1952-2008 - Museum of the Moving Image.
Contains "more than 300 commercials, from every presidential election since 1952" Includes candidate profiles, background information on each election, and election results. 

Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections -- David Leip – Contemporary and historic election results.  Shows red and blue states back to George Washington. Includes congressional and gubernatorial results.

Election Statistics

Congressional Directory. Online 1997-; Print JK1011. cong./yr. 1829-2010.
Provides statistics including votes for president, senators, representatives, and governors by party affiliation.

Federal Elections - Federal Election Commission (FEC)
Election statistics for all candidates for president, senators, and representatives. Includes totals for write-in candidates.

Nomination and Election of the President and Vice-President of the United States. 
Y 1.1/3:congress/number Sudoc congressional microfiche OR search the title in the "Advanced Search" in ProQuest Congressional.
A compilation of Federal and State laws, party rules, court decisions, FEC regulations, and statistical materials on Presidential and Vice Presidential nomination and election.

Statistical Abstract of the United States - Census Bureau.
HA201(yr.) Hodges 1896-2012.
The section on 'elections' gives statistics for presidential and congressional elections by party for various years. State election information, and data on voting and registration by race are included.

Voting and Registration in the Election of (yr.) - Census Bureau. 1960s -2000s
Voting and registration by population characteristics by state, region and division.

Other Sources for Election Statistics

America Votes - Congressional Quarterly. JK1967.A8 1966-2010
Statistics on voting and elections.

Congressional Quarterly Almanac. Online: 1945-current; Print: 1948-2006 JK 1.C66
Check the appendix for the 'political report' for election results held during the year.

World Almanac and Book of Facts. Search contents online 
Print 1923- AY67.N5W7
Use the volume for the year following an election. Unofficial results by county.

Vital Statistics on American Politics. JK274.S74, 1988-2010
Covers a wide range of topics including elections and voting.