Need help?
Have a research question?
Visit the Public Services Desk
2nd floor, Hodges Library
Call us (865) 974-4351
Text us (865) 940-0821
Email us
Make an appointment
Russian Poetry Reading from Alexander Street Press
- Music & Performing Arts
An audio and video collection for classical, opera, jazz, world, popular music, and American music. Also includes theatre, dance, and film resources.
OneSearch
Begin your search by clicking here.
Note: Some materials can be found in Cyrillic script, but for a more thorough search use Roman letters.
For Russian language books / E-books:
On the Advanced Search screen select Russian as the language.
Enter a search term (use words that you'd like to find in the book title, or, if you'd like a very broad search use a very common word)
For Russian literature translated into English:
Possible subjects to search…
Russian literature
Russian literature – History and Criticism
Russian literature – (country region)
Russian prose literature—20th Century
Children’s literature, Russian
Russian literature—translations into English
- Center for Research Libraries Digital CollectionsUT Libraries is a member of The Center for Research Libraries, an international consortium of research libraries. Browse CRL Digital Collections for members. See Resource Sharing for information on borrowing materials.
General Language & Literature Databases
- CLCD
Provides reviews, thematic lists, award listings, and curriculum tools for PreK - 12 books.
- Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography
Provides thousands of biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Includes the main series, documentary, and yearbook volumes.
- EBSCO Ebook Collection
A collection of e-books covering a wide range of subjects.
- Google Books
Search a large index of the world's books. Find millions of great books you can preview or read for free.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Abstracts and indexes international literature in linguistics and related disciplines including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Coverage from 1973 to current.
- MLA International Bibliography
Index of research in literature, language, and folklore. Also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus. Coverage from 1920 to present.
- WorldCatA free interface to the WorldCat database, WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world.
Russian Language Resources
- Delovoj Petersburg (in Russian)Daily Russian newspaper based in St. Petersberg.
- The St. Petersburg Times (in English)A semi-weekly English-language newspaper based in St. Petersburg, Russia, which serves the expatriate community, tourists, and Russians interested in English.
- eLIBRARY.RU: Nauchnaia Elektronnaia BibliotekaIndexes over 1400 online journals and provides access to articles from over 500 open access journals.
- Gramota: Spravochno-Informatsionnyi Portal (in Russian)Reference portal on Russian language. Includes links to online dictionaries.
- Russian: An Interactive On-line Reference GrammarCovers basic information on the Russian alphabet, pronunciation, spelling, and parts of speech.
- Russian Language Learning on the Web (Univ. of Sussex)Contains general information about several Russian writers, as well as literary texts by those authors in the original Russian. An excellent resource for developing Russian reading skills.
- RUSSNETProvides links to online resources for teaching and learning the Russian language or finding work in Russia, as well as links to Russian-related organizations. A project of the American Councils for International Education.
- Transparent Language
A language learning application.
Dictionaries
- Slovari i entsiklopedii na AkademikeA collection of online Russian dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Learn Russian!
- Mango Languages
An online language learning resource that covers over 70 languages. Courses are accessible from a web browser or app.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
- Tennessee Electronic LibraryCreate an account with TEL to access Transparent Language Online from their website. Find it in the right side bar entitled "Featured Resources."