Skip to main content

Latin American Studies: Reference

Information and research sources for assignments, interests and entertainment

Monarch

The Monarch is famous for its southward migration and northward return in summer from Canada to Mexico and Baja California which spans the life of three to four generations of the butterfly.

Reference Titles

Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS)
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources. More information on the history of the Handbook can be found in a paper written for the Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials (SALALM) annual meeting in 1996.

World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean     
World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean breaks new ground in the publishing world by bringing together in a single place a rich collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news-feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video; and much more. World Scholar covers topics such as politics, economics, religion, culture, international affairs, the environment, science, and technology. The topics are presented on a country and continent level, offering deep contextualization of the subjects under discussion.

Latin American North East Libraries Consortium (LANE)
The Latin America North East Libraries Consortium (LANE) is formed by a group of academic and research libraries in the northeastern United States committed to building and maintaining Latin American studies collections. The consortium seeks to promote collaborative projects that enhance the depth and scope of the combined collections and to facilitate access to them. The information available on this site is intended not only for the use of LANE members, but also for researchers who may have an interest in learning about the availability of Latin American research resources in the region. Our Working Documents may be particularly useful in this respect.

LADB
The Latin America Data Base (LADB) is the University of New Mexico's premier English language Latin America news service. Established as a unit of the Latin American and Iberian Institute in 1986, LADB has had an Internet presence since 1996. LADB is located on the UNM campus in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

LADARK
The Latin American Development Archive at The University of Texas at San Antonio. LADARK contains data sets and other information useful to social scientists who are doing research on Latin American development. These materials may be copied freely for scholarly research and educational purposes.