Skip to main content

Latin American Studies: Databases

Information and research sources for assignments, interests and entertainment

Seated bearded Maya

Open Access

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
Your source for over 275,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.

HAPI currently provides over 60,000 links to the full text of articles appearing in more than 600 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.

Latin Americanist Research Resources Project
LARRP is a consortium of research libraries that seeks to increase free and open access to information in support of learning and scholarship in Latin American Studies. It mobilizes collaborative activities among individuals and organizations on a global scale but focuses on relationships within the academic library community.

Latindex
This is an index of online journals from Latin America, The Caribbean, Spain and Portugal with links to individual journals but no search capability across journals.


CLASE and PERIODICA 1975+     
CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities. PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science and technology.

Latino Literature
Brings together poetry, fiction, and drama written in English and Spanish by Latin authors working in the United States. 

World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean     
World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean breaks new ground in the publishing world by bringing together in a single place a rich collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news-feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video; and much more. World Scholar covers topics such as politics, economics, religion, culture, international affairs, the environment, science, and technology. The topics are presented on a country and continent level, offering deep contextualization of the subjects under discussion.

Latin American North East Libraries Consortium (LANE)
The Latin America North East Libraries Consortium (LANE) is formed by a group of academic and research libraries in the northeastern United States committed to building and maintaining Latin American studies collections. The consortium seeks to promote collaborative projects that enhance the depth and scope of the combined collections and to facilitate access to them. The information available on this site is intended not only for the use of LANE members, but also for researchers who may have an interest in learning about the availability of Latin American research resources in the region. Our Working Documents may be particularly useful in this respect.LADB