Need help?
Have a research question?
Visit the Public Services Desk
2nd floor, Hodges Library
Call us (865) 974-4351
Text us (865) 940-0821
Email us
Make an appointment
Spanish Databases
- Basque LibraryCovering Basque materials produced since 1994.
- Bibliografia de la Literatura EspanolaComprehensive bibliography of Spanish literature from 1980 to present.
- Caribbean LiteratureA searchable collection of poetry and fiction produced in the Caribbean during the 19th and 20th centuries
- CompluDocFrom Universidad Complutense - reviews of articles from over 4000 academic journals
- Gale OneFile. Informe AcademicoIndex and full-text of 58 popular Hispanic magazines. One of the Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL) databases.
- Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fictionpoetry, fiction, and drama written in English and Spanish by Latin authors working in the United States
- Sabin Americana : History of the Americas, 1500-1926Contains works about the Americas published worldwide from 1500 to the early 1900's. Includes books, pamphlets, serials and other documents providing original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions, and more. Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography.
Language & Literature Databases
- Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography
Provides thousands of biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Includes the main series, documentary, and yearbook volumes.
- Latin American Women WritersProse, poetry, and drama composed by Latin American women from the colonial period in the 17th century to the present. Presents a tool for understanding the diversity and development of Latin America through a feminine perspective.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Abstracts and indexes international literature in linguistics and related disciplines including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Coverage from 1973 to current.
- MLA International Bibliography
Index of research in literature, language, and folklore. Also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus. Coverage from 1920 to present.
General Humanities Research
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index : A & HCI1975+
Multidisciplinary section of the Web of Science covering scholarly literature in the arts and humanities.
- Google ScholarGoogle search for scholarly articles and books.
- Humanities International CompleteCitations and selected full-text for key Humanities journals. Excellent for cross-discipline searching.
- JSTORBack issues of selected scholarly journals in ecology, economics, history, mathematics, music, political science, statistics, and other humanities and social sciences.
- Project MuseContains full texts of articles from a selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.
Anthropology & Culture
- Anthropology OnlineA wide range of written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over.
- Anthropology Plus
Extensive index of materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology and related interdisciplinary research from the 1880s to present.
- AnthroSourceCollection of full-text journals from the American Anthropological Association.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Indexes journal articles and scholarly essays on world religions and religious perspectives on social issues from 1949 to present.
- Columbia Gazetteer of the World
A geographic encyclopedia. Names, descriptions, and characteristics of thousands of places in the world.
- eHRAF ArchaeologyA full-text collection of archaeological materials organized into archaeological traditions.
- eHRAF World CulturesFull-text collection of ethnographic documents covering all aspects of cultural and social life.
- Ethnic Newswatch
Full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press of the United States.
- Ethnographic Video Online
A streaming video collection of resources for the study of human culture and behavior. Covers every region of the world and features the work of influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century.
- Archives of Latin American and Caribbean history, sixteenth to twentieth centuryPrimary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean. Topics include politics, economics, religion, culture, international affairs, the environment, science, and technology.
Art & Music
- ARTstor
With more than 2 million images* (and growing), Artstor is a cross-disciplinary collection of rights-cleared images from around the world.
*Note: The number of images available varies by country due to copyright restrictions.
- Cuarteto Latinoamericano Virtual LibraryLatin American works for string quartet, in PDF format. In the cases of those composers or publishers who have not relinquished their rights to free download, links are included for the purchase of materials.
- Music Online: Contemporary World Music
Streaming audio collection of sounds from around the world. Genres include reggae, Balkanic jazz, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - fado, flamenco, klezmer, gagaku, and more.
- Encyclopedia of Popular Music
Covers popular music of all genres and periods from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music.
- Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
An encyclopedia about music all over the world.
- Music & Performing Arts
An audio and video collection for classical, opera, jazz, world, popular music, and American music. Also includes theatre, dance, and film resources.
- Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
This streaming audio database produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions.