What Are Scholarly Sources?
Peer-reviewed, or refereed, sources are often the standard for reliable academic research.
Each of the databases on this page has access to peer-reviewed sources, such as scholarly journal articles, monographs, or chapters from edited collections. Make sure to check the box to “limit to peer-reviewed sources,” if there is one.
Business Research Databases
- Business Source Complete
A scholarly business database providing bibliographic and full-text content covering all disciplines of business.
Other Discipline Specific Databases
Formal reports and other business research situations will often involve subjects outside of just “business.” You might want to consider other subject-specific databases. Below are listed some good starting points for a variety of subjects.
- APA PsycINFO
This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts of international psychological literature from the 1800s to present.
- PubMed
- This link opens in a new window
Essential database for biomedicine. Includes citations from MEDLINE and for biomedical articles in life science journals. A product of the National Center for Biotechnology Information.
- ERIC / EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
Includes indexed and some full-text education literature and resources. Coverage from 1966 to present.
Interdisciplinary Research Databases
- JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of selected scholarly journals, books, images, and primary sources in humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Gale Academic OneFile
Multidisciplinary full-text and citations database. A great place to begin your research!
- Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary database covers magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers and is a good place to start for any subject.