Newspaper databases
- African American Newspapers. Series 1, 1827-1998
A NewsBank collection of over 200 full-text U.S. newspapers published by or for African Americans.
- New York Amsterdam News, 1922-1993
Full-text of this leading Black owned historical Harlem newspaper. It published columns by notable people including W. E. B. Du Bois and Malcolm X. It also covered the historically important Harlem Renaissance. Digitized with full article images. Coverage from 1922 to 1993.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers
A collection of selected U.S. historical newspapers. Most titles date back to the 1800s.
- New York Times, 1851-2019
Full-text of the daily newspaper based in New York City. It is regarded as a national newspaper of record. Digitized with full article images. Coverage from 1851 to 2019. Additional year of content added annually.
- Washington Post, 1877-2006
Full-text of daily Washington, D.C. newspaper. Historically led the American press's investigation into the Watergate scandal. Digitized with full article images. Coverage from 1877 to 2006. Additional year of content added annually.
- Wall Street Journal, 1889-2013
Full-text of this historic business-focused daily newspaper based in New York City. Regarded as a newspaper of record for business and financial news. Digitized with full article images. Coverage from 1889 to 2013. Additional year of content added annually.
Databases
- Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice
Primary source documents from 1490 to 2007 related to the complex subjects of slavery, abolition and social justice from archives and libraries across the Atlantic world.
- African American Communities
Primary sources related to discrimination, urban renewal, civil rights, race relations, and African American culture and identity. This resource focuses on experiences in Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina.
- Black Women WritersLiterature and essays on feminist issues, written by authors from Africa and the African diaspora. Topics include sexism and racism, and black feminism. Coverage from 1760 to current.
- Contemporary Black BiographyBiographical profiles of the important and influential persons of African American and/or black heritage. Covers persons of various nationalities in a wide variety of fields.
UTK Library has access to volumes 1-77,81-107, 112-118, 121-123, 139-150,152. - U.S. Declassified Documents Online
Access to a broad range of previously classified federal records from the twentieth and twenty first centuries, including presidential libraries, diplomatic correspondence, domestic surveillance, and military reports.
- Biological Abstracts
This link opens in a new window
Indexed journal coverage of the life sciences with topics ranging from botany to microbiology to pharmacology. Includes BIOSIS indexing and MeSH terms. Coverage from 1926 to present.
