UT Construction Science Homepage
Click the UT Construction Science image above to open Construction Science's homepage in a new window.
Code and Cost
The following is lists of books, journals, and web-sites are related code information of Construction Science. Clicking the names open in a new window. Information icon
provides description of the item.
Government Websites
- The National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) - Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) NIOSH is also directly responsible for several regulations. These regulations mostly outline procedures and requirements for specific health and safety related matters involving a particular industry or set forth rules for NIOSH to follow in administering programs assigned to the Institute.
- Tennessee Codes Enforcement The Codes Enforcement section enforces statewide adopted fire and building construction safety codes and standards to afford a reasonable degree of safety to life and property from fire and hazards incident to the design, construction, alteration, and repair of buildings or structures.
UT Library's Databases
- ASTM CompassFull-text journals, special technical publications, manuals, data series, ASTM standards, and research reports from American Society for Testing and Materials.
- BuildingGreenProvides sustainable design and construction information. Includes GreenSpec directory of green building products, case studies, and Environmental Building News
- IEEE Xplore
Full-text of all Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers journals, transactions, magazines, conference proceedings and books, and all active IEEE standards.
- MADCAD eLibraryKey architectural standards and building codes.
Books/E-Books/Journals
- Book: 2012 international building code Offers the latest regulations on designing and installing commercial and residential buildings
- E-book: Accessible and usable buildings and facilities : ICC A117.1-2009 : American National Standard. Approved October 20, 2010. American National Standards Institute.
- E-book: 2015 International Building Code Illustrated Handbook The most comprehensive visual guide to the International Building Code has been fully revised for 2015 requirements.
- E-book: International fire code 2012 Part I. Administrative -- Part II. General safety provisions -- Part III. Building and equipment design features -- Part IV. Special occupancies and operations -- Part V. Hazardous materials -- Part VI. Referenced standards -- Part VII. Appendices.
- E-book: Structural steel designer's handbook AISC, AASHTO, AISI, ASTM, AREMA, and ASCE-07 design standards Mirroring the latest developments in materials, methods, codes, and standards in building and bridge design, this is a one-of-a-kind, definitive reference for engineers.
- U.S. Department of Energy - Building Energy Codes program, Tennessee The Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance (State Fire Marshal's office) began a residential building code enforcement program on October 1, 2010. This program covers areas of the state that do not have building codes enforced by the local government or do not enforce building codes that are current within seven years of the latest edition unless the local government has opted not to have the state do so.
The following is lists of books, journals, and web-sites that discuss cost information for Construction Science. Clicking the titles open links in a new window. The information icon provides description of the item.
Spon's cost handbooks
- E-book: Spon's grounds maintenance contract handbook Aimed at those at the sharp end of contract grounds maintenance, this book will provide guidance for anyone unfamiliar with the process of contracting work out. Written in a clear and readable style and full of practical details it will be particularly valuable to local authorities who, from 1990 will be thrown into contractual maintenance and competitive tendering for the first time.
- E-book: Spon's African construction costs handbook Users Guide. Conversion Factors Section 1: Regional Overview Map. The Construction Industry in the Africa Region. Section 2: Individual Countries Introductory Notes to Country Sections. Introduction. Key Data. Construction Cost Data. Exchange Rates and Inflation Values. Useful Addresses. Individual Countries: Algeria. Cameroon. Chad. Gabon. Ghana. Guinea. Kenya. Nigeria. Senegal. South Africa. Tanzania. The Gambia. Zambia. Section 3: Comparative Data Introductory Notes. Key National Indicators. Population. Economy. Geography. Construction Cost Data.
- E-book: Spon's Latin America construction costs handbook This unique publication is the only detailed, multinational guide to the cost of construction work across Latin America. Countries covered are Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, French Guiana, Guyana, Mexico, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay and Venezuela.
- E-book: Spon's Middle East construction costs handbook The indispensable guide to building costs in Bahrain, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria and the UAE. Features detailed information across all sectors and by individual country, plus comparative information.
- E-book: Spon's European construction costs handbook Spon's European Construction Costs Handbook is the only book of its kind - a unique compilation of cost data on the single most important construction market in the world. This updated edition expands its coverage of countries and once again gives details of select difficult-to-research markets in Eastern Europe as well as Western Europe, and North.
- Book: Spon's estimating costs guide to electrical works : unit rates and project costs Specially written for contractors and small businesses carrying out small works, Spon's Estimating Cost Guide to Electrical Works provides accurate information on thousands of rates, each broken down to labor, material overheads and profit for residential, retail and light industrial premises
Means' cost journals and books
- Journal: Means assemblies cost data Compare system costs in the budgetary phase of any project. Earlier title : Means systems costs, Later title : Assemblies cost data
- Book: RS Means illustrated construction dictionary : the complete source of construction terms and concepts Means Illustrated Construction Dictionary provides clear, authoritative definitions — covering all the major construction specialties
- Journal: Square foot costs Earlier title : Means square foot costs