--Biology, EEB, BCMB, Microbiology, NIMBioS, GST
--Women, Gender & Sexuality
--Sociology
Assignment Guide for Race & Ethnicity 343
Hello! I'm Donna Braquet, the Sociology Librarian. I've created this guide to give you some jumping off points for finding data and statistics. I've included images below the links to give you an idea of the types of topics and data that you can find in each resource.
If you need assistance finding a particular statistic, please contact me at donna@utk.edu.
Data Sources with Visualizations
- PolicyMap
Easy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, heath, jobs and more in communities across the U.S. Use for research, market studies, business planning, grant application, and impact analysis.
- ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S.Current statistics in the U.S. See images below for the categories. Mostly tabular data. If you need historical data, use this source for 1878-2012, https://libguides.utk.edu/databases/138
- Social ExplorerPremade maps down to county level (example: diabetes, population density, crime, STIs, etc.). Customizable tables can be built by choosing variables.
- SageDataUS statistics, as well as international, in graphical form.
- ICPSRYou'll not need to use this resource for your assignment, but it is important that you are aware of ICPSR, especially if you plan to pursue graduate school in social sciences. ICPSR is a depository of large data sets of political and social research.
Government Statistics and Data
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
National Center for Education Statistics
Compare student performance among states, Compare funding, Find school district information and demographics.
National Center for Health Statistics
Think Tanks and Research Groups
RAND is a research organization that develops solutions to public policy challenges to help make communities throughout the world safer and more secure, healthier and more prosperous. RAND is nonprofit, nonpartisan, and committed to the public interest.
The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit organization based in Washington, D.C. Our mission is to conduct in-depth, nonpartisan research to improve policy and governance at local, national, and global levels.
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan, nonadvocacy fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. It does not take policy positions. The Center conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, computational social science research and other data-driven research.
Polling and Opinion
- Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
A large collection of public opinion poll data. Topics include social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and more. When available, results charts and full datasets are available for download.
- CQ Researcher
Contains reports about current and controversial issues. Excellent for finding overviews, pros/cons and lists of key resources.
- Pew Research CenterPew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions.
- ICPSR
Archive of political and social research data. Includes leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.
- American National Election StudiesOldest continuous series of survey data investigating electoral behavior and attitudes in the United States (since 1948). ANES interviews are conducted before and after presidential elections and after midterm Congressional elections (1958-2002).
- GSS Data ExplorerKey Trends is a tool that allows users to easily visualize historical trends of the GSS.
- Global Indicators DatabasePew Research Center conducts public opinion surveys around the world on a broad array of subjects ranging from people's assessments of their own lives to their views about the current state of the world and important issues of the day. The Global Indicators Database contains data from over 600,000 interviews in 69 countries.
- EurobarometerEurobarometer surveys are the official polling instrument used by the European Parliament, the European Commission and other EU institutions and agencies to monitor regularly the state of public opinion in Europe on issues related to the European Union as well as attitudes on subjects of political or social nature. Eurobarometer provides quality and relevant data for experts in public opinion, researchers, media and the public.
- Arab BarometerArab Barometer is a nonpartisan research network that provides insight into the social, political, and economic attitudes and values of ordinary citizens across the Arab world. We have been conducting high quality and reliable public opinion surveys in the Middle East and North Africa since 2006. We are the longest-standing and the largest repository of publicly available data on the views of men and women in the MENA region. Our findings give a voice to the needs and concerns of Arab publics.
- Asian BarometerThe ABS is an applied research program that aims to gauge public opinion across Asia on issues such as political values, democracy, and governance. The ABS covers virtually all major political systems in the region, including regimes that have followed different trajectories and are at different stages of political transition, offering valuable comparative data for researchers and practitioners.
- European Social SurveyThe European Social Survey (ESS) is an academically driven cross-national survey that has been conducted across Europe since its establishment in 2001. Every two years, face-to-face interviews are conducted with newly selected, cross-sectional samples.
- Latin American Public Opinion ProjectLAPOP is the premier academic institution carrying out surveys of public opinion in the Americas, with over thirty years of experience. As a center for excellence in survey research, LAPOP uses "gold standard" approaches and innovative methods to carry out targeted national surveys; conduct impact evaluation studies; and produce reports on individual attitudes, evaluations, and experiences.
- Program on International Policy Attitudes (PIPA)The Program on International Policy Attitudes (PIPA) was established in 1992 with the purpose of giving public opinion a greater voice in international relations. PIPA conducts in-depth studies of public opinion that include polls, focus groups and interviews. It integrates its findings together with those of other organizations. It actively seeks the participation of members of the policy community in developing its polls so as to make them immediately relevant to the needs of policymakers. PIPA is a joint program of the Center on Policy Attitudes (COPA) and the Center for International and Security Studies at Maryland (CISSM).
Opinion & Polls
- Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
A large collection of public opinion poll data. Topics include social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and more. When available, results charts and full datasets are available for download.
