Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Civic Engagement: Library Resources

Whether you are new to Knoxville, new to civic engagement, or both, this guide will help you get started.

Government Information Libguides

In addition to the information you find here, Greg March, Government Information Librarian, has put together several helpful Libguides for more information on the U.S. Census, U.S. legislation and regulation, consumer information, the United Nations, and other related topics.

Government Information Libguides

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Provides overviews and pro/con essays on social issues.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Modern Political Archives

The Modern Political Archives are housed in the Howard H. Baker Jr. Center for Public Policy. The Modern Political Archives (MPA) contains over 4,000 linear feet of archival material (manuscripts, books, photos, film, sound recordings, digital files, memorabilia and ephemera) representing the careers and legacies of select Tennessean members of the U.S. Congress, the federal judiciary, and presidential cabinets.

Modern Political Archives

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research

An extensive archive of public opinion information and domestic and international polling information. Roper Center provides access to the iPOLL database, a database of 600,000 questions and answers asked in the U.S. since 1935.

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research

 

Voter Registration Libguide

Provides information on registering to vote, where to vote, and other related information.

Voter Registration Libguide 

One Search

A OneSearch query for “Civic Engagement” provides more than 33,000 hits in the forms of printed or electronic books, peer-reviewed journal articles, conference papers, streaming videos, and more.

Users can refine their results using the bar on the left side of the screen.

One Search