Research Guides: ALEC 240: Effective Oral Communication: Places to Search

General Databases

Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary database covers magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers and is a good place to start for any subject.
Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing EBSCOhost databases or ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
Credo Reference
A collection of subject encyclopedias and handbooks that serves as great source of background information on a variety of topics to start your research.
If the content of a Credo Reference article or book chapter is inaccessible to you, please contact eproblems@utk.edu to request an accessible alternative format.
Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary citation index covering journal articles and conference proceedings in sciences, social sciences, and humanities from 1900 to current. Provides cited reference searching and journal impact factors. Also includes access to Essential Science Indicators.
Please see this FAQ for accessibility workarounds for accessing Web of Science. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
CABI Digital Library
Cross-search all CAB resources in applied life sciences including, CAB Abstracts, VetMed Resource, articles, ebooks, and more.
OneSearch
One Search finds items from UT Collections as well as journal and newspaper articles, books and book chapters, and much more from multiple library resources.

Newspaper and Magazine Databases

Factiva
A collection of thousands of full-text magazines and newspapers plus corporate and stock market data.

Points of View Databases

Gale In Context. Opposing Viewpoints
Provides overviews and pro/con essays on social issues.
- Access provided by the Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL).
- Please see this FAQ for additional information about content in Gale databases.
- Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing Gale databases and ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
Points of View Reference Center
Resources that present multiple sides of a current issue. Each topic presents an overview, argument, and counter-argument.
Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing EBSCOhost databases or ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.

Statistics Databases

Statista
Statistics, reports, and market outlooks to analyze consumer data and related markets.

Note that the Libraries no longer maintains a subscription to Statista, but a free version can be accessed by creating an account.
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
A current summary of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States.

Extension Publications

Extension publications are reputable learning resources written by experts in Extension units of land grant universities. They can be fact sheets, practical guides, or present research in a format intended for non-academics.

Find UT Extension publications at this link: https://extension.tennessee.edu/publications

Type "site:.edu + extension + topic" into Google to find more extension publications from other states. Ex: "site:.edu + extension + ticks".