Skip to main content
Skip to content

Symplectic Elements Publications at UT: Import from a Database or by DOI/ISBN

This guide addresses common questions from UT researchers about creating their Publications list in their Elements profile.

General Instructions for Exporting & Importing Citations

If you aren't an EndNote or Zotero user, you may still be able to import your citations from other sources.

Which database lists most of your publications? Find the appropriate database on the right side of this page under Step-by-Step Instructions: Export from Specific Databases. For help using a particular database, you can also contact your subject librarian.

Other citation sources for importing publications include WorldCat.org (great for monographs) and a DOI resolver for individual articles.

 


General Steps: Start in a Database, or Search by DOI or ISBN

The steps below are generic instructions that will work in most databases.

Step 1

Open a subject-appropriate database (e.g, a library subscription database) and search for your citations.

  • Alternatively, search for single articles by DOI using dx.doi.org.
  • Or, search for a book by title or ISBN in WorldCat.org.

Step 2

Find, then mark or save, each relevant citation to a folder or list. To do that, look for a PLUS SIGN, FOLDER ICON, or CHECK BOX next to a citation to add it. You may need to create an account -- at no cost, but as a way to retrieve your results -- before saving selected titles to a list. (If you are only looking for one title, you may not need to add it to a list. Look for an EXPORT option, and go to step 4. This depends on the database you're searching.)

Step 3

When you've identified all your citations, navigate to the marked/saved folder or list. Make sure all your citations are included -- if there's a box next to each publication, tick the box next to each one. Then, look for an EXPORT option.

Step 4

Choose the RIS file format export option. The RIS format is related to EndNote.

Step 5

Save the RIS file, and know where you saved it.

Step 6

Login to Elements and, under Menu at the top of the screen, choose Manage Publications: Import.

Elements Menu Import Screenshot

 

Step 7

Upload and import the .RIS file you generated in Step 5 as the "Reference Manager/Endnote" file type.

Elements Import Screenshot

Important! Review the imported citations because the data may not be completely correct. A common problem is in the citation type; there may be confusion in records between book chapters and books, or articles and conference proceedings, and so on.

At the top of the page, go to Menu > Manage Publications to review your publications list. To make changes, look for the YELLOW PENCIL ICON (Pencil Icon) that appears in the citation for each publication.

 

Specific Database Instructions

You may find it easiest to import citations from a database that indexes most of your publications.

Find your preferred database(s) below. Click on the title for directions.


Step-by-Step Instructions: Export from Specific Databases

 

For Monographs

 

Use Google Scholar? Use these instructions to export an RIS file.

 

Humanities Databases

  • EBSCO
    • America: History & Life
    • Art Full Text
    • ATLA Religion
    • Avery Index
    • Historical Abstracts
    • Humanities International Complete
  • JSTOR
  • ProQuest
    • ARTbibliographies Modern
    • DAAI (Design)
    • FIAF (Film)
    • IBA (Art)
    • IIMP (Music)
    • IIPA (Performance)
    • LLBA (Linguistics)
    • MLA
    • Philosopher's Index
  • Didn't find what you were looking for?
    • Look for additional citations in the Web of Science Arts & Humanities Citation Index (search it | export instructions)
    • Or, search by DOI. Use the generic instructions on the left under "Start in a Database, or..." and search by DOI

 

Social Science Databases

  • EBSCO
    • Anthropology Plus
    • Business Source Complete
    • Communication and Mass Media Complete
    • Criminal Justice Abstracts
    • EconLit
    • Education Source
    • ERIC
    • Hospitality & Tourism Index
    • LGBT Life
    • LISTA
    • SPORTDiscus
    • Women's Studies International
  • JSTOR
  • ProQuest
    • Accounting & Tax
    • LISA
    • PAIS International
    • PsycARTICLES & PsycINFO
    • Social Services Abstracts
    • Sociological Abstracts
    • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
  • Didn't find what you were looking for?
    • Look for additional citations in the Web of Science Social Sciences Citation Index (search it | export instructions)
    • Or, search by DOI. Use the generic instructions on the left under "Start in a Database, or..." and search by DOI

 

Science Databases

Additional Help & Credits

Additional Help

If you need assistance with any of the steps listed on this page, contact your subject librarian.

The Provost's Office has a UT Elements Help site that provide information on Elements outside of the Publications aspect.

Symplectic also has several detailed Elements guides with more information (Note: you must be logged in to Elements to view):


For issues relating to managing your profile, publications, or other data inside Elements, please contact the appropriate point of contact listed on UT's Elements Help Contacts page, which lists help by college and departmental liaisons.

If the above contact is not available, please contact the Office of the Provost at 974-6152.


If you have other questions, please note this message on the Elements login screen:

Elements Login Screenshot


Credits

UT's Symplectic Elements Guide was created with information from the following sources:

The guide was created by Rachel Caldwell (Scholarly Communication & Publishing Librarian), overseen by Holly Mercer (Associate Dean for Research and Scholarly Communication). Directions for importing citations were developed by Jeanine Williamson (Engineering Librarian).