Music Subject Guides
The Literature and Pedagagy Guides are designed for use by music faculty and students. Included in these guides are lists of call number ranges and subject headings for browsing/accessing books, journals, scores, and audio/visual recordings on different aspects of each genre. Online resources such as links to notable professional organizations and commonly used web sites and blogs are also included.
Career information can be found in the Resources for Careers in Music subject guide.
Many of the resources in this guide may also be accessed through the UT George F. DeVine Music Library homepage.
University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Revised August 2010, Nathalie Hristov
Databases and Indexes
- Music Periodicals DatabaseSupports music scholarship, theory, and practice with indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals. Coverage from 1874 to current.
- Music IndexIndexing and abstracts covering every aspect of classical and popular music. Coverage from 1970 to present.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full TextBibliography on writings about music with some full-text articles. Covers traditional music, popular music, classical music, and more. Coverage from the early 19th century to present.
- FirstSearchSearch millions of bibliographic records from worldwide library collections.
Associate Professor & Music Librarian
Nathalie Hristov
Contact:
UT George F. DeVine Music Library
Natalie L. Haslam Music Center G04 (ground floor)
(865) 974-9893
Natalie L. Haslam Music Center G04 (ground floor)
(865) 974-9893
Subjects: Music