Skip to Main Content

Women in Music: Print Resources

This guide is designed to help researchers identify resources useful for researching women in music.

Browse the Stacks!

Use call number ranges to browse the physical collection:

ML82 Women and music –In Reference and Stacks
ML105 Biographical dictionaries –In Reference
ML120 Bibliographies of books –In Reference
ML128.W Bibliographies of printed music –In Reference

Subject Headings

Use Subject Headings to help you locate items in the online catalog:

AFRICAN AMERICAN WOMEN COMPOSERS
AFRICAN AMERICAN WOMEN MUSICIANS
WOMEN COMPOSERS, BLACK
WOMEN IN MUSIC
WOMEN MUSIC CRITICS
WOMEN MUSIC PATRONS
WOMEN MUSIC TEACHERS

Select Print Resources

Retrieve these resources from the Music Library Stacks:

A Bad Woman Feeling Good: Blues and the Women Who Sing Them by Jackson, B.
Call Number: ML400.J24 2005
Black women and Music: More Than the Blues by Hayes, E. M.
Call Number: ML82.A37 2007
Black Women in American Bands & Orchestras by Handy, D.
Call Number: Electronic Resource
Cecilia Reclaimed : Feminist Perspectives on Gender and Music by Cook, S. and Tsou, J.
Call Number: ML82.C42 1994
The Choral Music of Twentieth-Century Women Composers by Lutyens, E.
Call Number: ML1506.R66 2006
Emblems of eloquence : opera and women's voices in seventeenth-century Venice by Heller, Wendy
Call Number: ML2100 .H45 2003
Feminine endings : music, gender, and sexuality by Susan McClary
Call Number: ML82 .M38 1991
Finding her Voice: The Saga of Women in Country Music. by Bufwack, M.
Call Number: ML3524.B83 2003
Frock Rock: Women Performing Popular Music by Bayton, M.
Call Number: ML3492.B39 1998
From Convent to Concert Hall: A Guide to Women Composers by Glickman, Sylvia.
Call Number: ML 82.F76 2003
Gender and the Musical Canon by Citron, M.
Call Number: ML3890.C58 1993
Girl power : the nineties revolution in music by Meltzer, Marisa
Call Number: ML82 .M456 2010
Girls Rock!: Fifty Years of Women Making Music by Carson, M.
Call Number: ML82.C37 2004
Go, Girl, Go: The Women’s Revolution in Music by Dickerson, J.
Call Number: ML82. D528 2005
Jazzwomen: Conversations with Twenty-one Musicians by Enstice, W.
Call Number: ML395 .E572 2004 & CD10285
Medieval Woman’s Song : Cross-Cultural Approaches by Klinck, A. L.
Call Number: ML82. M45 2002
Music and the southern belle : from accomplished lady to Confederate composer by Bailey, Candace
Call Number: Electronic Resource
Music And Women: The Story of Women in their Relation to Music by Drinker, S.
Call Number: ML82.D7 1995
Muslim Women Sing: Hausa Popular Song by Mack, B. B.
Call Number: ML3503.N6 M32 2004
Opera, or the undoing of women by Catherine Clément
Call Number: ML2100 .C613 1988
Pink noises : women on electronic music and sound by Rodgers, Tara
Call Number: ML82 .R65 2010
She Bop: The Definitive History of Women in Rock, Pop and Soul by O’Brien, L.
Call Number: ML82.O27 1995
She Bop II: The Definitive History of Women in Rock, Pop and Soul by O’Brien, L.
Call Number: ML82.O27 2002
Songs in Black and lavender : race, sexual politics, and women's music by Hayes, Eileen M.
Call Number: ML82 .H42 2010
They’re Playing Our Songs: Women Talk about Feminist Rock Music by Savage, A. M.
Call Number: ML3534.3.S28 2003
Unsung: A History of Women in American Music by Amner, C.
Call Number: ML82.A45 2001
Women Composers: A Discography by Frasier, J.
Call Number: Ref ML111.D48 no. 50
Women Composers and Music Technology in the United States: Crossing the Line by Hinkle-Turner, E.
Call Number: ML1380.H56 2006
Women in Music: An Anthology of Source Readings from the Middle Ages to the Present by Neuls-Bates, C.
Call Number: ML82.W65 1982
Women In Music: An Encyclopedic Biobibliography by Hixon, D.
Call Number: Ref ML105.H6 1993 v. 1, 2
The Women of Country Music: A Reader by Wolfe, C. K.
Call Number: ML394.W65 2003
Women singer-songwriters in rock : a populist rebellion in the 1990s by Lankford, Ronald D.
Call Number: ML82 .L35 2010

Reference Books

Retrieve these resources from the Music Library Reference Section:

Musical America: International Directory of the Performing Arts
Call Number: Ref. ML13.M83
(Provides a comprehensive list of music schools, summer music camps, music festivals, competitions, performance venues, and scholarship and financial aid information.)

Bibliographies

A Guide to Piano Music by Women Composers by Dees, P.
Call Number: Ref ML 102. P5 D44 2002 vol. 1-2
Flute Music by Women Composers: An Annotated Catalog by Boenke, H.
Call Number: Ref ML128.F7 B6 1988
Guitar Music by Women Composers: An Annotated Catalog by MacAuslan, J.
Call Number: Ref ML128.G8 M33 1997
Organ and Harpsichord Music by Women Composers: An Annotated Catalog by Heinrich, A.
Call Number: Ref ML128.O6 O73 1991
Piano Music by Black Women Composers: A Catalog of Solo and Ensemble Works. by Walker-Hill, H.
Call Number: Ref ML128.P3 W3 1992
Say Can You Deny Me: A Guide to Surviving Music by Women from the 16th through the 18th Centuries. by Jackson, B.
Call Number: Ref ML128.W7 J3 1994
Women in Music: A Research and Information Guide by Pendle, K.
Call Number: Ref ML128.W7 P46 2005
Music by Black Women Composers: A Bibliography of Available Scores by Walker-Hill, H.
Call Number: Ref ML128.W7 W35 1995

Biographies

Women Composers, Conductors, and Musicians of the Twentieth Century by LePage, J.
Call Number: Ref ML82.L46 v.1-2
Women and Music in America Since 1900: An Encyclopedia by Burns, K.
Call Number: Ref ML82.W625 2002 v. 1-2
Women Composers and Songwriters: A Concise Biographical Dictionary by Claghorn, C.
Call Number: Ref ML105.C593 1996
Women In Music: An Encyclopedic Biobibliography by Hixon, D.
Call Number: Ref ML105.H6 1993 v. 1, 2
The New Grove Dictionary of Women Composers
Call Number: Ref ML105.N38 1994
American Women Songwriters: A Biographical Dictionary by Grattan, V.
Call Number: Ref ML106.U3 G73 1993

Discographies

Moanin’ low: A Discography of Female Popular Vocal Recordings by Laird, R.
Call Number: Ref ML156.4.W6 L35 1996