Primary Sources
- C19, The Nineteenth Century IndexMulti-disciplinary database for English language material printed in the 19th Century.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Books, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, maps, photographs, statistics, and other primary source documents from the 19th century. Focus is British.
Societies of Interest
Research Strategies
Literary Research and the Victorian and Edwardian Ages, 1830-1910 by ISBN: 9780810877276Publication Date: 2011-01-01While many of the novels, plays, poetry, and prose from the Victorian and Edwardian Ages are still readily available in print, a vast amount of literature has long since fallen out of print. Recent efforts in digitization the Victorian Women Writers Project; English Literary Periodicals, 1681-1914; Early British Periodicals, 1681-1921; 19th Century British Library Newspapers; 19th Century U.K. Periodicals; Times Digital Archives; Victorian Popular Culture; and even Google Books have helped to make many texts more widely accessible. Literary Research and the Victorian and Edwardian Ages, 1830-1910 discusses traditional and new resources for researching this period of British literature and the ways in which those resources can be used in conjunction with one another.
Varied Topics
- British Literary Manuscripts Online
This extensive digital archive includes poems, plays, essays, novels, diaries, journals, correspondence and other manuscripts from the Middle Ages through the Victorian era.
- Orlando Women's Writing in the British Isles from the Beginnings to the PresentResource for studying the history of women's writing. Includes timelines, bibliographies, and biographical entries that place writers in their historical, cultural, and critical context.
- British Library Newspapers
Full-text collection of both national and regional British newspapers. Digitized with full article images.
Coverage from 1732 to 1950.
- The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003
Full-text of the first pictorial weekly newspaper. Coverage from 1842 to 2003.
- Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992
Full-text of popular British humor magazine.
- Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004
Full-text of an important London newspaper. Coverage from 1896 to 2004.
- Eight Centuries
A vast scholarly database for finding published material from the 12th century through 1960.
- London Low Life: Street Culture, Social Reform and the Victorian Underworld
Color digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 19th and early 20th century London. Also includes secondary sources such as maps and essays.
- Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture, 1790–1920Primary source collection of documents on the evolution of crime and punishment. The archive's focus is on the nineteenth century- the most rapid period of evolution for crime and its associated legal/penal systems.
- Victorian Popular Culture
Primary sources of popular entertainment in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries in Britain and the U.S.
- Wellesley Index to Victorian PeriodicalsIdentifies the authors of articles within 45 major Victorian periodicals between 1824-1900, and provides a bibliography for each contributor. It incorporates the Curran Index of corrections and additions to the original index.
Effective June 30, 2023, Wellesley Index is now a component part of the database C19 Index. - Literary Manuscripts: Victorian Manuscripts from the Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection of the New York Public LibraryNineteenth century holdings of the Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection of English and American Literature. Holdings date from 1480 to present. Collection has a Victorian era focus.
Digital Projects
- NINES ProjectNineteenth-century Scholarship Online
