Skip to main content

The Studio at Hodges Library: The Studio

The Studio at Hodges Library

The Studio

The Studio 

The Studio is located in the Commons South in Hodges Library. The Studio is a media production and design lab.  Open to UT students, staff, and faculty, the Studio provides computers, software, and staff to assist users in the creation of media-enhanced educational projects.

Sound Room in The StudioResources and Services Include:

  • Help desk, consultation services, and instruction for classes to support media production, editing, and design projects.

  • Production spaces including video & photography room, 3 audio recording rooms, and 1 whisper room for vocal recording.

  • Editing and design workstations including software, scanners in a range of sizes, and analog input for analog audio & video sources.

  • Virtual reality room with HTC vive. Part of the library's array of gaming activities including monthly game night.

  • All spaces can be reserved online. Contact staff to schedule consultations.

​Contact & Location:

www.lib.utk.edu/studio
studio@utk.edu
865-974-5396
235 Hodges Library - Commons South

 

Citing Images

When using images in your presentation, remember to cite or provide attribution to the images.  Here are some resources to help get you started:


Citing Images
This is from the University of California Irvine's Visual Literacy Guide.  It includes best practices and guidelines for citing images.

Citation Examples
The University of Cincinatti provides good examples of image citations and other information related to using images.

 

Music Resources

There are many sites that offer royalty free music to use for projects and presentations.  Most often, the recordings are not free, however, there are some that allow free downloads.  If you search, you may find some independent artists who allow use of their music for free if you give credit in the presentation. You may also check at the Music Library for

Public Domain and Royalty Free Music
A clearinghouse of information about and links to public domain and royalty-free music.  They have gathered a large group of web resources to access and purchase royalty free music.

Artist Server
This is a social music site.  It provides a filter to allow you to select music that is avialable for attribution or share alike or in the public domain.

Free Sound
Free Sounds provides sound clips all with a Creative Commons licesnse allowing for reuse.

Incomptech Royalty Free Music
Incompetch provides music with attribution required.

Jamendo Pro/Track
"Royalty free music for your video, audio and interactive projects"

Musopen
Musopen is a non-profit organization that provides free music resources.

Opsound
Opsound provides free music donated by artist using a Creative Commons Licesnse.