Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Utopias and Planned Communities in Tennessee (Special Collections): Home

This research guide will direct you to materials in Special Collections related to the history of utopian and planned communities in Tennessee.

What's in this Guide?

This research guide will direct you to materials in Special Collections related to the history of utopian and planned communities in Tennessee.

Special Collections: Searching

Use the following to locate general information and resources related to Tennessee utopias and planned communities. Try combining several terms to return more relevant results.

  • Tennessee
  • Kingsport, Tennessee

 

  • Utopias
  • Oak Ridge, Tennessee

 

  • Harriman, Tennessee
  • Rugby, Tennessee
 

 

To find more information on locating primary sources, manuscripts, and archives material in Special Collections, please visit the Using Special Collection's SCOUT research guide, found at https://libguides.utk.edu/SCOUT/home.

General Special Collection Resources for Planned Tennessee Utopian Communities

Some Tennessee Utopias. 1941 (Thesis41.M64)
Visions of Utopia: Nashoba, Rugby, Ruskin, and the "New Communities" in Tennessee's Past. 1977 (HX655.T2 E37)

Special Collections Subject Guides

Special Collections's picture
Special Collections
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-4480
special@utk.edu

We are open Monday-Friday: 9AM-12PM and 1PM-4PM by appointment only. Go to Visiting Special Collections for more information on how to request materials or make an appointment.
865-974-4480
Website