Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

U.S. Presidents from Tennessee (Special Collections): Home

This guide highlights research materials and primary sources in Special Collections related to the U.S. Presidents from Tennessee: Andrew Jackson, James K. Polk, and Andrew Johnson.

What's in this Guide?

black and white portrait of hannah (left) and aaron jackson posing on chairs for the camera.This guide highlights research materials and primary sources in Special Collections related to the U.S. Presidents from Tennessee: Andrew Jackson, James K. Polk, and Andrew Johnson.

The photograph on the left is of Hannah and Aaron Jackson, former slaves of President Andrew Jackson, c. 1865. From the Volunteer Voices Digital Collection

General Resources

Use the following terms to locate general information on the three U.S. Presidents from Tennessee. Try combining several terms to return more relevant results.

There are several search terms to use when looking for materials. The most information may be found by simply using their full name or variations thereof. For example, for James Knox Polk, it is advisable to try "James Polk" or "James K Polk" because some texts do not include his full middle name. Other terms to include in your search may be the names of controversies or bills passed during each president's respective terms, such as "nullification crisis" for Jackson, or "Reconstruction" for Johnson.

  • James Polk
  • President

 

  • Andrew Jackson
  • career

 

  • Andrew Johnson
   

 

To find more information on locating primary sources, manuscripts, and archives material in Special Collections, please visit the Using Special Collection's SCOUT research guide, found at https://libguides.utk.edu/SCOUT/home.

General Special Collections Resources for Tennessee Presidents

Lives of the Presidents of the United States of America: From Washington to the Present Time. 1882. (E176.1 .A25)

The Ladies of the White House; or, In the Home of the Presidents: A Complete History of the Social and Domestic Lives of the Presidents from Washington to Cleveland. 1886. (E176.1 .L28)

More Tales of Tennessee. 1978. (F436.5 .D38)

Tennessee's Presidents. 1981. (E176.1 .W7225)

Voices for Union. 1996. (E381 .V652 1996)

Special Collections Contact Information

Profile Photo
Special Collections
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-4480
special@utk.edu

We are open Monday-Friday: 9AM-5PM. Go to Visiting Special Collections for more information on how to request materials.
865-974-4480
Website