Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL)

Journal for Research & Practice in College Teaching: Special Issue on Innovation in Teaching – Vol. 3, No. 2 (2018)

This special issue of the Journal for Research & Practice in College Teaching includes many examples of narrative reflections on a variety of subjects and in a variety of disciplines. It provides many examples to peruse to get idea for what narrative reflection can be.

“Scholarly personal narrative in the SoTL tent" -- Laura Ng and Mary Carney, Teaching & Learning Inquiry Vol. 5 No. 1 (2017)

This article is not only an example of a project that analyzes SoTL narratives. It also argues for narrative reflections and their importance in SoTL work. The authors’ discussion of refection might help re-center and re-invigorate as the project comes to a close.

“Personal essays of teaching innovation: Good stories that take a deal of telling” -- Ruth Benander, Journal for Research & Practice in College Teaching, Vol. 3 No. 2 (2018)

This introduction to a special issue of the Journal for Research & Practice in College Teaching discusses why personal narrative is important in the teaching and learning space. It also provides some description of what narrative reflection is and why it’s important.

“Legitimating reflective writing in SoTL: ‘Dysfunctional illusions of rigor’ revisited” -- Alison Cook-Sather, Sophia Abbot, & Peter Felten, Teaching & Learning Inquiry Vol. 7 No. 2 (2019)

This article argues why reflective writing is useful in SoTL work and includes comments from students and instructors on how reflection has been helpful for them. It gives some explanation and a foundation for why reflection is important and should give some initial motivation and excitement at the beginning of this project.

“Work, life, illness and the academy: A personal reflection” -- Rhonda Breit, SoTL in the South (2019)

In this example reflection, the author discusses her own experience with illness and how that affects her work in teaching and learning. This may provide some inspiration in the beginning phases.

“Brainstorming” -- The Writing Center, UNC Chapel Hill

This page from the UNC Chapel Hill Writing Center provides many ideas for brainstorming. While aimed at students who are beginning research papers, the page gives different ways to start thinking of an planning writing projects wherever you are in your writing career.

“Taxonomy of Questions from the Intro to Opening Lines” -- YouTube, CELatElon (2013)

In this video, Pat Hutchings describes her Taxonomy of Questions as a way to begin thinking of SoTL work. These questions could be a good jumping-off point for thinking about a way to structure and focus the narrative reflection.

Reflective Practice Toolkit – Cambridge University Libraries

This toolkit from Cambridge University Libraries provides support wherever you are in the reflective writing progress. There are resources if you’re just starting out or if you’re in the middle of writing. The toolkit contains activities and questions throughout as some tangible options for getting you on track.

“Revealing the process: Reflective essays” – Mick Healey, Kelly E. Matthews, & Alison Cook-Sather; Writing about Learning and Teaching in Higher Education (2020)

This chapter discusses reflection in SoTL and why it’s important. It also provides some validation for the messiness of the process and how to use reflection to share the personal work of teaching. There are also discussion questions and a worksheet if guided brainstorming is helpful.

“Sharing everyday experiences: Stories” – Mick Healey, Kelly E. Matthews, & Alison Cook-Sather; Writing about Learning and Teaching in Higher Education (2020)

This chapter discusses storytelling in SoTL and how to relay details and context of lived experience. It also discusses what storytelling in teaching reflection looks like. There are also discussion questions and a worksheet if guided brainstorming is helpful.