Research Guides: Selecting a Journal to Publish In: Home

Journals that UTCVM People Published In

Snapshot of journals published in by UTCVM
In December, 2023, PubMed was searched for articles published by people affiliated with UTCVM during 2021-2023. The journals published in were collected and data Web of Science impact factor, cost to publish open access, and whether case studies are accepted were added. If you have questions about selecting a journal to publish in, contact Jeanine Williamson Fletcher at jwilliamson@utk.edu.
Some Journals that Veterinary Technicians Publish In
Includes journals that veterinary technicians at UTCVM have published in along with additional veterinary technician journal titles

Scopus Organizations Search
Determine what journals have been published by University of Tennessee Knoxville researchers.,

ThinkCheckSubmit
Principles of Transparency and Best Practice in Scholarly Publishing
The Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE), the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ), the Open Access Scholarly Publishing Association (OASPA), and the World Association of Medical Editors (WAME) are scholarly organisations that have collaborated to identify principles of transparency and best practice for scholarly publications. This is the fourth version of a work in progress (published 15 September 2022).
Selecting a Journal for Publication: Criteria to Consider
Suiter AM, Sarli CC. Selecting a Journal for Publication: Criteria to Consider. Mo Med. 2019 Nov-Dec;116(6):461-465. PMID: 31911720; PMCID: PMC6913840.

Journal/Author Name Estimator (JANE)
Jane will then compare your document or keywords to millions of documents in PubMed to find the best matching journals, authors or articles
Database Searches
Searching databases such as CABI CAB Abstracts will allow you to sort by journal in a list of results for a search on your topic,
Directory of Open Access Journals
Contains several filters that will allow you to narrow down a journal, such as publication charge
Web of Science Master Journals List
Contains filterable list and a manuscript matcher
Scopus Sources Search
Filterable list of Scopus journals

Journal Citation Reports
Gives a non-normalized impact factor for Web of Science journals.
Scopus CiteScore
a measure of impact for Scopus journals
Altmetrics
alternative measures of imapct
Measuring Scholarly Research Impact Info Kit
Guide developed by UT librarian, Judy Li,

Open Publishing Support Fund
In addition to the OPSF, see the open publishing discounts available.