Middle School and High School Music Education Subject Guide
This guide provides a list of key databases for the subject along with links to notable professional organizations and commonly used web sites and blogs. Call number ranges and subject headings for finding books, journals, scores, and audio/visual recordings in the Music Library are also included.
Many of the resources in this guide may also be accessed through the UT George F. DeVine Music Library homepage.
University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Revised July 2017, Chris Durman
DeVine Music Library Coordinator
Natalie L. Haslam Music Center, G-04
1741 Volunteer Blvd., 37996-2600
Key Databases
Online encyclopedias and dictionaries are excellent places to begin your research:
- Oxford Music Online
Comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship. Search by instrument, era, region, and more.
Search for journal articles on your topic in the following databases:
- Music Periodicals DatabaseSearches International Index to Music Periodicals and International Index to Performing Arts
- Music Index
Indexing and abstracts covering every aspect of classical and popular music. Coverage from 1970 to present.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text
Bibliography on writings about music with some full-text articles. Covers traditional music, popular music, classical music, and more. Coverage from the early 19th century to present.
- ERIC from EBSCO
This link opens in a new window
Includes indexed and some full-text education literature and resources. Coverage from 1966 to present.
- Education Source
Provides indexing, abstracts, and some Full-Text of articles in all areas of education. Complements the ERIC database with a broad coverage of topics related to education.
- APA PsycINFO
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts of international psychological literature from the 1800s to present.
- Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
Contains the former "Arts and Humanities Citation Index" and "Social Sciences Citation Index" - ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
Dissertations and theses in all disciplines from around the world, many with full-text.
Listen to music written and/or performed for children and adolescents in this database:
- Music & Performing Arts
An audio and video collection for classical, opera, jazz, world, popular music, and American music. Also includes theatre, dance, and film resources.
Journals
- American Music TeacherCall Number: ML1.A55
- American String TeacherCall Number: ML27.U5 A8356
- British Journal of Music Education BJMECall Number: ML5.B6898
- Council for Research in Music EducationCall Number: Bulletin ML1.C68
- General Music Today (ONLINE ONLY)Call Number: MT1.G375
- Journal of Research in Music EducationCall Number: ML1.J6
- Music Educators JournalCall Number: ML1.M24
- Teaching MusicCall Number: ML1.T33
- Tennessee MusicianCall Number: ML1.T4