Skip to main content

Scopus: Tutorials

Tutorials

Getting Started

Is this your first time using Scopus, you’re in the right place! In this section, you will learn how to access Scopus from the UT Libraries website and how to create and access a Scopus account.


Please Note: When accessing the tutorials throughout this Scopus guide, you may be required to open the guide in separate windows. If this step is required, information about aligning the windows and continuing will be found within the guide.


Introduction: General information about the Scopus database and how to access it from UT's University Libraries' website.


Scopus Account Tutorial

Scopus Account: Step-by-step guide about creating and accessing your Scopus account. Also included are tutorials related to saving your searches, creating alerts that notify you when new articles about a topic are published, and exporting your citations to a reference manager.

Creating / Logging Into Your Account

Saving Searches and Creating Alerts (video provided by Elsevier)

Downloading Search Results and Exporting Citations to a Reference Manager (video provided by Elsevier)

Searching

This is a great place to start if you are new to Scopus or looking for a refresher. In this section, you will walk through the basic search options available in the database.


Please Note: When accessing the tutorials throughout this Scopus guide, you may be required to open the guide in separate windows. If this step is required, information about aligning the windows and continuing will be found within the guide.


Basic Searching: Step-by-step instructions walking users through the basic search options available in Scopus. Includes keyword searches, using Boolean and proximity operators, exact phrase searching, and specifying publication dates. The section also includes information about accessing Scopus' Tutorials and Search Tips.


Advanced Searching (video provided by Elsevier)

Scopus Results

Once you have learned the basics of building a search string in Scopus, complete the guides in this section to familiarize yourself with navigating and operating the filters, article information, and metrics found on the results page.


Please Note: When accessing the tutorials throughout this Scopus guide, you may be required to open the guide in separate windows. If this step is required, information about aligning the windows and continuing will be found within the guide.


Refining Results: This tutorial will focus on the options available to refine your results after completing an initial Scopus search. The guide includes using the Quick Action items (Edit, Save, Set Alert, and Set Feed), Searching within your results, and using various facets to limit or exclude items from your search.


Article Overview: In this tutorial, you will learn about the article information available on the Scopus results page. It will cover how to sort your results for efficiency, how to access the article abstracts, and the various options you have for each document, including exporting, downloading, and printing results, as well as gathering citation information.


Finding Full Text: This tutorial will walk users through accessing full text versions of the documents they find using Scopus.


Scopus Additional Documents Tutorial

Additional Documents: Links to information about Secondary Documents and Patents.

Note: With both of the following links - Scopus has slightly updated their interface. While most of the information provided will be the same, the location of both the Secondary Documents and Patents link has moved. In the articles, the links are at the top of the page; however, in the new interface, the links are located just above the document results list.

Secondary Documents (Under the heading Search Results Toolbar / View Secondary Documents)

Note: The Scopus tutorial How do I work with document search results? states "you cannot open the [secondary] document". However, if you see the UTK FindText button with the secondary option, it may be accessible via the University Libraries' website. More information about using this button is available in the Finding Full Text tutorial.

Patents (Under the heading Search Results Toolbar / View Patent Results)

Beyond a Search

This section goes beyond the basic search options available in Scopus and provides guidance on accessing and using the functions that help expand a search.


Please Note: When accessing the tutorials throughout this Scopus guide, you may be required to open the guide in separate windows. If this step is required, information about aligning the windows and continuing will be found within the guide.


Expanding Searches: This tutorial provides more detailed information about the View Cited By, View References, and Related Documents options on the Document Results page. All of these options offer useful ways to expand your results by listing documents related to your initial search.


Authors & Affiliations: This tutorial will walk you through conducting searches using the Authors and Affiliations options. It will also highlight available features on the Author Details and Affiliation Details pages.


Source Search: This tutorial will walk you through conducting a search using the Source option. It will also highlight available features on the Source Details page, including a look at understanding a source's metrics and CiteScore. Additionally, the tutorial will examine the Comparing Sources feature.

All Tutorials

This section contains all the tutorials available for Scopus (created or curated by the University of Tennessee University Libraries). They cover everything from finding Scopus to comparing sources. This tab is helpful for students who have been assigned all of the tutorials for a class, or for anyone who wants to learn everything they can about how to use Scopus.


Please Note: When accessing the tutorials throughout this Scopus guide, you may be required to open the guide in separate windows. If this step is required, information about aligning the windows and continuing will be found within the guide.


Introduction: General information about the Scopus database and how to access it from UT's University Libraries' website.


Scopus Account Tutorial

Scopus Account: Step-by-step guide about creating and accessing your Scopus account. Also included are tutorials related to saving your searches, creating alerts that notify you when new articles about a topic are published, and exporting your citations to a reference manager.

Creating / Logging Into Your Account

Saving Searches and Creating Alerts (video provided by Elsevier)

Downloading Search Results and Exporting Citations to a Reference Manager (video provided by Elsevier)


Basic Searching: Step-by-step instructions walking users through the basic search options available in Scopus. Includes keyword searches, using Boolean and proximity operators, exact phrase searching, and specifying publication dates. The section also includes information about accessing Scopus' Tutorials and Search Tips.


Advanced Searching: (video provided by Elsevier)


Refining Results: This tutorial will focus on the options available to refine your results after completing an initial Scopus search. The guide includes using the Quick Action items (Edit, Save, Set Alert, and Set Feed), Searching within your results, and using various facets to limit or exclude items from your search.


Article Overview: In this tutorial, you will learn about the article information available on the Scopus results page. It will cover how to sort your results for efficiency, how to access the article abstracts, and the various options you have for each document, including exporting, downloading, and printing results, as well as gathering citation information.


Finding Full Text: This tutorial will walk users through accessing full text versions of the documents they find using Scopus.


Scopus Additional Documents Tutorial

Additional Documents: Links to information about Secondary Documents and Patents.

Note: With both of the following links - Scopus has slightly updated their interface. While most of the information provided will be the same, the location of both the Secondary Documents and Patents link has moved. In the articles, the links are at the top of the page; however, in the new interface, the links are located just above the document results list.

Secondary Documents (Under the heading Search Results Toolbar / View Secondary Documents)

Note: The Scopus tutorial How do I work with document search results? states "you cannot open the [secondary] document". However, if you see the UTK FindText button with the secondary option, it may be accessible via the University Libraries' website. More information about using this button is available in the Finding Full Text tutorial.

Patents (Under the heading Search Results Toolbar / View Patent Results)


Expanding Searches: This tutorial provides more detailed information about the View Cited By, View References, and Related Documents options on the Document Results page. All of these options offer useful ways to expand your results by listing documents related to your initial search.


Authors & Affiliations: This tutorial will walk you through conducting searches using the Authors and Affiliations options. It will also highlight available features on the Author Details and Affiliation Details pages.


Source Search: This tutorial will walk you through conducting a search using the Source option. It will also highlight available features on the Source Details page, including a look at understanding a source's metrics and CiteScore. Additionally, the tutorial will examine the Comparing Sources feature.