Your Subject Librarian
Newspapers Databases
View this A-Z list of all newspaper databases that UT Knoxville Libraries subscribes to.
For current newspaper articles, try these databases first:
- Nexis UniProvides content from US and international magazines, journals, newspapers, television/radio broadcasts and other news sources dating back mostly from the 1990s with some content back to the 1970s.
- Access World News, Research CollectionIncludes newspapers, blogs, newswires, transcripts and videos from local, regional, national and international news sources. Provides access to smaller U.S. newspapers not covered in LexisNexis.
- FactivaProvides full-text from business and industry news from newspapers, journals, magazines, newswires, transcripts, and blogs. The only resource with current issues of the Wall Street Journal.
- Ethnic Newswatch"Newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press" in the U.S.
- Associated Press Collections Online
Collection includes online versions of wire copy, correspondence, memos, and internal publications from the Associated Press Corporate Archives, AP Images, and AP Archive.
- Associated Press Images CollectionA large collection of historical and contemporary photos from the Associated Press.
Note: due to copyright restrictions, some articles and images may not be available in all databases. Search for specific titles in UT Collections to see if we have print or microfilmed copies.
- Gale OneFile. News
Full-text newspaper resource of thousands of major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. Search by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields.
- Gale OneFile. Popular Magazines
Searches hundreds of popular magazines. Includes full-text and full color images.
Popular Newspapers
National Newspapers
New York Times, 1851-current (Academic Site License)
Unlimited access to the New York Times database and issues from 1851 to Current. First time users must create an account using their UT email address see Create Account page.
- Wall Street Journal (1979-current) (Factiva) Available in Factiva. Click on News Pages > Factiva Pages to browse the most recent 2 months. Older issues are also available online.
Tennessee
- Knoxville News-Sentinel, 1887 through current
Access through ProQuest to the primary newspaper of Knoxville, Tennessee. Content from 1887 through current.
- Access World News, Research Collection
Content from local, national and international newspapers, blogs, newswires, and broadcast transcripts. Explore a specific event or compare a wide variety of viewpoints. Includes Newsbank Special Reports.
Newspapers at UT & Beyond - various formats
Browse all newspaper databases available at UT here
Use OneSearch (UT Libraries' catalog) to find print or microfilmed newspapers in our collection. Select "UT Collections" and use filters to limit your search to "Physical/print."
If we don't have the newspaper you need, you may make an interlibrary loan request.
Search WorldCat to discover newspapers owned by other libraries around the world. UTK researchers may also borrow from the Center for Research Libraries' extensive collection of newspaper titles from other US states and worldwide.
Researching Newspapers
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
Includes full-text coverage of journals in communication and mass media studies.
- Newspaper Research Journal - Original papers and book reviews that provide information to bridge journalism educators and newspaper professionals.