Life in Shakespeare's England
Court Masques: Jacobean and Caroline Entertainments, 1605-1640 by
This selection of 18 masques offers a fascinating insight into the culture and politics of the early 17th century.
Call Number: Hodges Stacks: PR1253 .C68 1995
The Early Stuart Masque Dance, Costume, and Music by
This work studies the complex impact of movements, costumes, words, scenes, music, and special effects in English illusionistic theatre of the Renaissance.
Call Number: Hodges Stacks: GV1646.E6 R38 2006 (and e-book)
Historical Dictionary of the Elizabethan World by
The Historical Dictionary of the Elizabethan World provides its users with clear definitions and descriptions of people, events, institutions, ideas, and terminology relating in some significant way to the Elizabethan period.
Call Number: Hodges Stacks: DA357 .W34 1999
How to Be a Tudor by
A celebrated master of British social and domestic history, Ruth Goodman draws on her own adventures living in re-created Tudor conditions to serve as our intrepid guide to sixteenth-century living.
Call Number: Hodges Stacks: DA315 .G66 2016
The Oxford Handbook of Early Modern Theatre by
This authoritative and comprehensive collection of new essays explores the social, political, and economic pressures under which the playing companies of Shakespeare and his contemporaries operated.
Call Number: Hodges Stacks: PN2589 .O94 2009
Tudor England by
This is the first encyclopedia to be devoted entirely to Tudor England. 700 entries by top scholars in every major field combine new modes of archival research with a detailed Tudor chronology and appendix of biographical essays.
Call Number: Hodges Stacks: DA315 .T753 2001
Shakespeare's World
Databases: Primary Sources
- ARTstor
This link opens in a new window
With more than 2 million images* (and growing), Artstor is a cross-disciplinary collection of rights-cleared images from around the world.
*Note: The number of images available varies by country due to copyright restrictions.
- Defining Gender
Primary source material for the study and analysis of gender, leisure and consumer culture from 1450 to 1910. Key topics: Conduct and Politeness, Domesticity and the Family, Consumption and Leisure, Education and Sensibility and The Body.
- Early English Books Online
Full-text and page images of almost every work printed in the British Isles and North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700.
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and RenaissanceExplore Iter Press databases, bibliographies, journals, and books about the Middle Ages and Renaissance, 400-1700.
- Medieval and Early Modern Sources OnlineA collection of resources for the study of medieval and early modern Britain and Ireland.
- Shakespeare in Performance : Prompt Books from the Folger Shakespeare LibraryFeatures prompt books from the Folger Shakespeare Library in Washington DC that tell the story of Shakespeare's plays as they were performed in theatres throughout Great Britain, the United States and internationally, between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries. Documents are indexed by genre, country, theatre, associated names, and key search terms, and are supplemented by souvenir copies, ephemera, illustrations and drawings, photographs, music scores, and correspondence.
Databases: Secondary Sources
- Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary database covers magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers and is a good place to start for any subject.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Indexes scholarly literature on world history, excluding the United States and Canada. Covers the time period from 1450 to the present.
Online Access - 6 simultaneous users - JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of selected scholarly journals, books, images, and primary sources in humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- MLA International Bibliography
Index of research in literature, language, and folklore. Also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus. Coverage from 1920 to present.
- New Oxford ShakespeareAll of Shakespeare's works, edited with criticism drawing on the latest textual and theatrical scholarship. Comprised of the Modern Critical Edition, the Critical Reference Edition, and the Authorship Companion.
- Project Muse
Full-text of scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences.
Databases for Theatre Research
- Humanities International Complete
This database includes all data from Humanities International Index (over 2,000 titles and 2 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases.
- Literature Online (LION)
A fully searchable library of more than 300,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies and key secondary sources.
- Music Periodicals Database
Provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full-text for more than 140 of the indexed journals.
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 395 international periodicals, plus full-text for more than 160 of the indexed journals.
Streaming Media
- Digital Theatre+
Streaming videos of current leading theater productions. Includes behind-the-scenes documentaries, as well as teaching and learning resources to facilitate a deeper understanding of theater productions and texts.
- Theatre in VideoFrom the most important productions of Shakespeare to rare in-depth footage focusing on the work of Samuel Beckett.
