Electronic Journals
- Linguistics E-JournalsOver 200 electronic journals addressing issues in the study of linguistics can be accessed via the BrowZine platform.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Dictionary of American Regional English
Reference of regional aspects of language, documenting words, phrases, and pronunciations that vary by location. Audio recordings also available.
A Dictionary of SociolinguisticsThe first comprehensive dictionary of the field of sociolinguistics, this is a valuable reference book for students and teachers of sociolinguistics, others concerned with the socially-oriented study of language and those with a professional interest in language.
Encyclopedia of Applied LinguisticsThis encyclopedia is a comprehensive resource covering the diverse field of applied linguistics. It brings together historic and emerging areas of research within applied linguistics. The resource combines individual entries ranging from 1,500 to 4,000 words, with longer, essay-style contributions giving a detailed overview of key developments and ideas.
- Oxford English Dictionary
OED is the pre-eminent historical dictionary of the English language. New content continuously added.
The OED migrated to a new interface in 2023. Library users who set up a personal profile - which may have included content, searches, and display preferences - on the old interface will see that those are unavailable with the new site launch. You will need to create a new account on the new site in order to use the personal profile benefit. More information on how to do this on the new interface can be found here at https://www.oed.com/information/get-help-with-access/individual-account/.
Databases
- Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary database covers magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers and is a good place to start for any subject.
- Anthropology Plus
Extensive index of materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology and related interdisciplinary research from the 1880s to present.
- ERIC / EBSCOhost
This link opens in a new window
Includes indexed and some full-text education literature and resources. Coverage from 1966 to present.
- JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of selected scholarly journals, books, images, and primary sources in humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior AbstractsAbstracts and indexes international literature in linguistics and related disciplines including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Coverage from 1973 to current.
- MLA International Bibliography
Index of research in literature, language, and folklore. Also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus. Coverage from 1920 to present.
- Project Muse
Full-text of scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences.
Streaming Media
- Ethnographic Video Online
A streaming video collection of resources for the study of human culture and behavior. Covers every region of the world and features the work of influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century.
- Films On Demand
A collection of thousands of educational streaming videos in the Humanities and Sciences. Browse by topic and popular producers.
- Kanopy
Streaming video collections and titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
Corpora
- Corpus of Contemporary American English
COCA is the largest corpus of English, and the only large and balanced corpus of American English. Contains more than 520 million words of text and it is equally divided among spoken, fiction, popular magazines, newspapers, and academic texts.
- Corpus of Historical American English
COHA is the largest structured corpus of historical American English. COHA contains more than 400 million words of text from the 1810s-2000s.
- Dictionary of Old English Web Corpus
A complete record of surviving Old English that defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (C.E. 600-1150) of the English language.
