This guide provides a list of key databases for the subject along with links to notable professional organizations and commonly used web sites and blogs. Call number ranges and subject headings for finding books, journals, scores, and audio/visual recordings in the Music Library are also included.
Many of the resources in this guide may also be accessed through the UT George F. DeVine Music Library homepage.
University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Revised July 2017, Chris Durman
DeVine Music Library Coordinator
Natalie L. Haslam Music Center, G-04
1741 Volunteer Blvd., 37996-2600
Key Databases
Online encyclopedias and dictionaries are excellent places to begin your research:
- Oxford Music Online
Comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship. Search by instrument, era, region, and more.
Search for journal articles on your topic in the following databases:
- Music Periodicals Database
Supports music scholarship, theory, and practice with indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals. Coverage from 1874 to current.
- Music Index
Indexing and abstracts covering every aspect of classical and popular music. Coverage from 1970 to present.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text
Bibliography on writings about music with some full-text articles. Covers traditional music, popular music, classical music, and more. Coverage from the early 19th century to present.
- Archives of Sexuality and Gender
Full-text primary source documents on important aspects of LGBTQ life. Documents span from 1940-2014, with the bulk from 1950-1990.
UTK Library only has access to LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 Part 1. - LGBTQ+ SourceFull-text of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines, newspapers, and books related to gender and sexuality.
- JSTOR
This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of selected scholarly journals, books, images, and primary sources in humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Listen to music by LGBTQ performers and composers in these databases:
- Music & Performing Arts
An audio and video collection for classical, opera, jazz, world, popular music, and American music. Also includes theatre, dance, and film resources.
- Naxos Music Library
A streaming audio database featuring a comprehensive collection of classical music. Search by composer, artist, label, and more. Includes guides on musical eras and other topical resources.
- Music Online: Jazz Music Library
A streaming audio collection of jazz recordings from all over the world. Includes individual tracks and entire albums featuring some of the most famous artists and ensembles.
- Naxos Music Library: Jazz
A streaming audio database featuring contemporary jazz from around the world. Search by composer, artist, label, and more.
Online Access - 10 simultaneous users - Music Online: Opera in Video
A streaming video collection of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries.
- Berliner Philharmoniker Digital Concert Hall
Archived videos and live streams of Berlin Philharmonic productions, as well as several documentaries. Search this collection by composer, conductor, soloist, and/or genre.
Online Access - 5 simultaneous users
Suggested Links
- GALA ChorusesGALA Choruses, Inc. is a not-for-profit organization serving the GLBT choral movement. The mission of GALA Choruses is to support GLBT choruses as we change our world through song. GALA Choruses is open to all GLBT and GLBT-allied choruses. Through workshops, festivals and ongoing networking and administrative support services, GALA Choruses fosters the continued artistic and organizational growth of its member choruses.
- LEGATO: Lesbians and Gays (Singing) TogetherLEGATO serves as the umbrella organization for lesbian and gay choirs and ensembles in Europe.
- Pride Bands AlliancePride Bands Alliance is a musical organization comprised of concert and marching bands from cities across the United States and the world.
- GLBTQ.comThe world's largest encyclopedia of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender and queer culture, this database contains many entries related to GLBTQ music.