Inclusive Citations

The Carlisle Indian Industrial School is a major site of memory for many Native peoples, as well as a source of study for students and scholars around the globe. This website represents an effort to aid the research process by bringing together, in digital format, a variety of resources that are physically preserved in various locations around the country. Through these resources, we seek to increase knowledge and understanding of the school and its complex legacy, while also facilitating efforts to tell the stories of the many thousands of students who were sent there (from The Carlisle Indian Industrial School Digital Resource Center).

We honor the Pawnee people on whose land the Genoa school was built and the thousands of children from at least forty tribal nations who attended the school. We offer this site to their descendants and communities, who have survived and persevered despite the US government’s attempt to eradicate Indian cultures and sovereignties (from the Genoa Indian School Digital Reconciliation Project).

Explore a growing collection of Native Arts and Culture (from Google Arts & Culture).

This page contains links to American history relating to Native Americans (from the National Archives).

The National Native American Boarding School Healing Coalition hosts a resource database dedicated to understanding the history and impacts of U.S. Indian boarding schools. This comprehensive repository encompasses a wide selection of materials including bibliographic entries, media resources, academic studies, and educational content. Designed to support research, education, and healing, the database serves as a crucial tool for scholars, educators, boarding school survivors and their relatives, as well as the public. The aim of the Resource Database is to facilitate a deeper understanding of the boarding school era's impact and to support the healing process for affected communities by providing accessible and informative resources that shed light on this significant aspect of American history (from The National Native American Boarding School Healing Coalition).

Native Land Disclaimer - This map does not represent or intend to represent official or legal boundaries of any Indigenous nations. To learn about definitive boundaries, contact the nations in question. Also, this map is not perfect -- it is a work in progress with tons of contributions from the community. Please send us fixes if you find errors. If you would like to read more about the ideas behind Native Land or where we are going, check out the blog. You can also see the roadmap (from the Native Land Digital).

The self-guided toolboxes enable Nation Builders to explore, develop and manage their understanding of key functions of tribal, First Nation, and other Indigenous governance structures and strategies. The Toolboxes provide Nation Builders with learning activities and resources they can use to assist Indigenous communities in their drive for self-determination. The content is supplemented with case studies, lessons learned, and first-hand explanations by fellow decision makers who have tackled the challenges of strengthening their own communities (from Toolboxes for Nation Building).

The Tribal Treaties Database provides an easy-to-use portal to access treaties, agreements, and other historical documents that have shaped relationships between tribal nations and the United States. These treaties represent pivotal moments in history where rights were negotiated, promises made, and the course of lives and nations forever altered (from the Tribal Treatises Database).

In print since 1971, the American Indian Culture and Research Journal (AICRJ) is an internationally renowned multidisciplinary journal designed for scholars and researchers. The premier journal in Native American and Indigenous studies, it publishes original scholarly papers and book reviews on a wide range of issues in fields ranging from history to anthropology to cultural studies to education and more. It is published three times per year by the UCLA American Indian Studies Center (from eScholarship Repository).

The American Indian Law Review serves as a nationwide scholarly forum for the presentation and analysis of developments in the law concerning indigenous people and Indian affairs. Adhering to the traditional law review format, the American Indian Law Review offers in depth articles written by legal scholars, attorneys and other expert observers. In addition, law students write on a wide variety of issues in the rapidly expanding field of Indian law (from JSTOR).

American Indian Quarterly has earned its reputation as one of the dominant journals in American Indian studies by presenting the best and most thought-provoking scholarship in the field. The journal is a forum for diverse voices and perspectives spanning a variety of academic disciplines. The common thread is AIQ’s commitment to publishing work that contributes to the development of American Indian studies as a field and to the sovereignty and continuance of American Indian nations and cultures. In addition to peer-reviewed articles, AIQ features reviews of books, films, and exhibits (from JSTOR).

Ethnohistory emphasizes the joint use of documentary materials and ethnographic or archaeological data, as well as the combination of historical and anthropological approaches, in the study of social and cultural processes and history. The journal has established a strong reputation for its studies of the history of native peoples in the Americas and in recent years has expanded its focus to cultures and societies throughout the world (from JSTOR).