Contact Me!
1015 Volunteer Blvd.
Knoxville, TN 37996
Popular Hospitality & Tourism Resources
-
Food and Drink in History
Explores over five centuries of primary source material documenting the story of food and drink. Includes printed and manuscript cookbooks, advertising ephemera, government reports, films and illustrated content sourced from across the globe to reflect a wide range of food cultures and traditions. (UT Library has access for modules 1 and 2) - Guide to the Tourism & Travel Industry
From the Library of Congress, an overview of the industry and links to statistics, Internet and print publications with additional information.
-
Hospitality & Tourism Index
Bibliographic database covering all areas of hospitality and tourism, including hospitality law, market trends and hotel management.
- IBISWorld
Offers current Industry Reports and Risk Reports with market trends, statistics and analysis on market size, market share of competitors, industry growth rates, and more.
-
Leisure, Travel & Mass Culture: The History of Tourism
Provides an in-depth look at the evolution of British and American working class tourism from 1850 to 1980. -
Hospitality Industry: Restaurants, Hotels, & Lodging Resource Guide (Library of Congress)
This guide includes print and electronics resources for anyone who is researching the history and current state of the hospitality industry with a focus on restaurants, hotels, and other commercial lodging. - U.S. Office of Travel and Tourism
An agency within the U.S. Dept. of Commerce, OTTI's web site has a collection of useful tourism links and an annual survey of tourism issues and events plus statistical data on travel to and from the U.S.
Popular News Sources
- Factiva
A collection of thousands of full-text magazines and newspapers plus corporate and stock market data.
- New York Times In Education
Product covers 16 disciplines of study. Faculty contributors post weekly updates featuring a piece of journalism and prompts for discussion, exploration, and analysis of what's happening in the news with their studies.
The New York Times In Education is located on a separate website than the New York Times, 1851- current website. To gain entry to the education site, new users must visit nytimesineducation.com and register on the upper right- hand side on the page using your UT email address. For your convenience, the same password used for your New York Times (news) account can be used to register for the education site.
Tip: when searching for our institution, you can either type in the full name The University of Tennessee or just Tennessee. - Wall Street Journal (WSJ.com: Online), current issues
Unlimited access to WSJ.com, WSJ mobile apps, and personalized content. First time users need to create an account using their UT email address. Coverage begins with December 31, 1997 and continues.
Inspiration and Credit: NYU Libraries Hospitality and Tourism research guide.