Shakespeare/Early Modern Databases
Mrs. Hopkins & Mr. Garrick in the Characters of Queen Gertrude and Hamlet. Folger Shakespeare Library. Shakespeare in Performance: Prompt Books from the Folger Shakespeare Library
Editions and Concordances
Folger Digital Library
Shakespeare's Words/Works
Internet Shakespeare Editions
Open Source Shakespeare, Concordance
Studying Shakespeare: Primary Sources
DEEP: Database of Early English Playbooks
Folger Prompt Books
Hamlet Travestie
REED: Records of Early English Drama
Henslowe-Alleyn papers from Dulwich
Renascence Editions
Studying Shakespeare: Secondary Sources
Map of Early Modern London
Illuminating Shakespeare (Oxford)
Shakepeare's Small Latin and Less Greek
Shakespeare in Performance
Canadian Adaptations of Shakespeare Project
Shakespeare's Globe
Shakespeare's Birthplace Trust
Additional Resources:
General Reference
- Humanities International CompleteCitations and selected full-text for key Humanities journals. Excellent for cross-discipline searching.
- MLA International Bibliography
Index of research in literature, language, and folklore. Also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus. Coverage from 1920 to present.
- Oxford English Dictionary
OED is the pre-eminent historical dictionary of the English language. New content continuously added.
The OED migrated to a new interface in 2023. Library users who set up a personal profile - which may have included content, searches, and display preferences - on the old interface will see that those are unavailable with the new site launch. You will need to create a new account on the new site in order to use the personal profile benefit. More information on how to do this on the new interface can be found here at https://www.oed.com/information/get-help-with-access/individual-account/.
