Selected Journals
Datasets
- HeathData.govThis site aims to make high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers.
- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social ResearchArchive of political and social research data. Includes leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.
- SociometricsLibrary of data files from eight topically-based health and social science collections. Contains longitudinal datasets as well as original survey instruments.
Essential Databases for Finding Articles
- Health Policy Reference CenterFull-text resources covering all aspects of health policy and related issues.
- CINAHL Complete
This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database for the literature of nursing and of allied health. - PubMed
- This link opens in a new window
Essential database for biomedicine. Includes citations from MEDLINE and for biomedical articles in life science journals. A product of the National Center for Biotechnology Information.
- Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature in science, engineering, medicine, social sciences, and some arts & humanities. Coverage is strongest from 1996 to present.
- Social Sciences Citation Index
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary section of Web of Science covering scholarly literature in the social sciences from 1900 to present.
Specialized Databases Pertaining to Health Policy
- Cochrane LibraryCochrane Library is a collection of evidence-based clinical information databases for healthcare providers.
- PAIS IndexCovers public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations, and includes journal articles, books, government documents, reports, and more.
- Quick Health Data OnlineOnline access to state and county-level health status data for the entire population of the United States.
Databases Pertaining to Contemporary Issues
- Academic Search CompleteThis multidisciplinary database covers magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers and is a good place to start for any subject.
- CQ Press ResearcherContains reports about current and controversial issues. Excellent for finding overviews, pros/cons and lists of key resources.
- Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Provides overviews and pro/con essays on social issues.
Databases Pertaining to U. S. Legislation
- Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
Index of federal publications with full-text linking, when available. As a Federal Repository Library, UTK Libraries can offer assistance in finding and using related U.S. government information.
- CRS ReportsReports from the Congressional Research Service providing nonpartisan research and analysis on public policy issues and news events. Part of ProQuest Congressional.
- Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full TextIndexes legal periodicals. Includes law reviews, bar association journals, and government documents.
- Nexis UniProvides legal news, business, and cases and codes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions. Also includes legal research sources and business information for US and international companies.
- ProQuest CongressionalComprehensive index to the U.S. Congress. Provides full-text of congressional publications including bills, laws, hearings, and more. Also includes members and committees information.
- ProQuest Legislative InsightLegislative history compilations of U.S. Public Laws. Coverage from 1929 to current
